Question: I have discovered that the stop light in my town does not recognize a bicycle. Just wondering how to make a left turn legally? Any suggestions? Is the traffic signal sensitivity adjustable? Answer: A person operating a bicycle or motorcycle may enter or cross an intersection controlled by a traffic-control signal against a red light in the following conditions: • the bicycle or motorcycle has been brought to a complete stop • the traffic-control signal continues to show a red light for an unreasonable time
Question: My wife and I love to ride our Honda 1800 Goldwing trike. Can our granddaughter ride between us on short rides? She is seven and loves to ride too. Answer: In looking at motorcycle owner manuals, it says, "Your motorcycle is designed to carry you and one passenger." Based on that and the following additional rules, it is illegal and unsafe to take your granddaughter along for a ride. When it comes to motorcycle operation: • A motorcyclist may only ride on a permanent seat. Passengers may ride on a passenger seat or in a sidecar.
Question: Can you drive in a bike lane? For instance, use it for a right turn lane?
Question: I read where the fine for going through a school bus stop arm will increase in Minnesota. Can you talk about the fine amount and school bus safety? Answer: As of Aug. 1, 2017, the fine has increased from $300 to $500 and the violation would remain a misdemeanor. The Department of Public Safety reported that 3,659 bus drivers across the state reported 703 stop-arm violations in just one day during the annual School Bus Stop Arm Survey held earlier this year. In the past six years, law enforcement across the state wrote nearly 9,000 stop-arm citations.
Question: I noticed a dog that was in a vehicle the other day at a local business parking lot and the occupants were not around. I was wondering what I should have done. With the recent warm weather, I can imagine the temperature inside the car must have been dangerously high for that dog. Is there a law against this?
More and more drivers are choosing to take the safe route of lining up a sober ride, however with eight DWI arrests during WE Fest, we know there is still work to be done. The Minnesota State Patrol Detroit Lakes District participated in keeping motorists safe during the 35th annual event, the nation's largest outdoor country music and camping festival, with close to 50,000 attendees coming into the lake country. Several Troopers patrolled areas around the event, from Aug. 1 — 5 and assisted with traffic control.
State law requires all vehicles to stop for school buses when the bus driver activates the flashing lights and has the crossing arm fully extended, and as of Aug. 1, drivers who violate that law will face a larger fine when citations increase from $300 to $500. Stop for School Buses Motorists failing to stop for school buses continues to be a serious issue that risks children's lives. During the annual School Bus Stop Arm Survey earlier this year, 3,659 bus drivers across the state reported 703 stop arm violations in just one day.
Question: When does the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) get involved with crashes? Answer: The Minnesota State Patrol notifies the NTSB on the following types of crashes. • School bus injuries or death to student passengers. • Public or charter bus crashes resulting in death or injury to occupants. • Railway crossing crashes resulting in two or more deaths, or involving a Commercial Motor Vehicle. • Heavy truck crashes resulting in two or more deaths. • Crashes resulting in five or more deaths.
Question: Can a person drive a semi barefoot? Answer: Yes, a person can drive a passenger vehicle or a commercial motor vehicle barefoot. I am asked this question fairly often. I have seen some footwear that could actually make it difficult for drivers to safely operate a vehicle gas/brake/clutch pedal. When operating a motorcycle or moped, prudent footwear would be the smartest and safest option.
Question: Can you be cited for illegal window tint if you recently purchased the vehicle through a dealer? Can the auto dealer can be charged with the violation? Answer: Citations can be issued to you and the dealer that sold you the vehicle with the illegal window tint. The law says that a new motor vehicle dealer, used motor vehicle dealer, or motor vehicle lessor may not sell or lease a motor vehicle at retail for registration in Minnesota that does not meet the glazing material requirements.