Weather Forecast


Breckenridge edges out Wadena-DC

Wadena-Deer Creek's Steven Erkenbrack gets ready to turn his opponent on his back for the fall during the Section 6A Tournament on Feb. 13. Jason Groth/Pioneer Journal1 / 2
Wadena-Deer Creek's Cody Wheeler gains control of the back of Breckenridge's Mason Vig. Jason Groth/Pioneer Journal2 / 2

The short-handed Wadena-Deer Creek wrestling team had the Breckenridge Cowboys on the rope, but a pair of late pins and a forfeit allowed the Cowboys to upend the Wolverines 42-39 in the Section 6A Team Tournament in Underwood on Feb. 13.

Both teams won seven matches, but the Cowboys were able to pick up more points by gaining one more six-point victory than the Wolverines.

Wadena-DC's Connor Dirks gets the fall at 132.

The Wolverines started strong with a pin from Koby Endres at 113. Endres took charge of the match early and was able to get Zane Mikkelson on his back in the second period, giving the Wolverines a 12-0 lead.

Breckenridge evened the match at 12 with a Zach Haire fall victory at 120 and a Ruddy Aidan forfeit win at 126.

Connor Dirks came on strong, earning a fall win over Wyatt Differding. He put Differding’s shoulders on the mat at the one minute and 17 second mark. Jayson Young followed with a 4-1 decision win, giving Wadena-DC the 21-12 lead. Young almost got the pin of Pearson in the second period, but the clock was on his side.

Back-to-back fall victories by Carter Gilles and Mason Meyer gave the Cowboys the 24-21 lead after 152.

Jayson Young works for the take down.

Wadena-DC gained a 39-24 lead after Braeden Sibert won by default, Cody Wheeler earned a fall and Steven Erkenbrack picked up a fall.

Wheeler and Erkenbrack wasted little time in controlling their opponent and getting them to the mat in their matches at 170 and 182, respectively.

Wheeler earned the fall at 1:44 of his match against Vig Mason, while Erkenbrack picked up the win over Isaac Thoennes at 51 seconds.

Once again, the momentum shifted back to Breckenridge. Tanner Differding earned a fall win over Jericho Baker at 1:30 of their match at 195, which maade the match 39-30 heading into 220.

Unfortunately for the Wolverines, they were already giving up six points at 285 due to a forfeit. The Wolverines needed to avoid a fall at 220, but Daniel Erlandson was able to turn Logan Wegscheid and pick up a second period pin, securing the match win for the Cowboys.

The Wolverines finished the regular season with a 3-16 dual meet record. Breckenridge was later eliminated when they were defeated by Ottertail Central 64-6 in the quarterfinals. The Wolverines will now set their sights on the Section 6A Individual Tournament which will take place on Saturday, Feb. 24 at Pelican Rapids.

Breckenridge 42, Wadena-DC 39

106: Simon Snyder (WDC) wins by forfeit

113: Koby Endres (WDC) def. Zane Mikkelson (BRK) (Fall 3:46)

120: Zach Haire (BRK) def. Brandon Wheeler (WDC) (Fall :46)

126: Ruddy Aidan (BRK) wins by forfeit

132: Connor Dirks (WDC) def. Wyatt Differding (BRK) (Fall 1:17)

138: Jayson Young (WDC) def. Dylan Pearson (BRK) (Dec. 4-1)

145: Carter Gilles (BRK) def. Isaac Hale (WDC) (Fall 2:26)

152: Mason Meyer (BRK) def. Mitchel Haman (WDC) (Fall :34)

160: Braeden Sibert (WDC) def. Austin Snobl (BRK) (Default)

170: Cody Wheeler (WDC) def. Mason Vig (BRK) (Fall 1:44)

182: Steven Erkenbrack (WDC) def. Isaac Thoennes (BRK) (Fall :51)

195: Tanner Differding (BRK) def. Jericho Baker (WDC) (Fall 1:30)

220: Daniel Erlandson (BRK) def. Logan Wegscheid (WDC) (Fall 3:42)

285: Gabe Diaz (BRK) wins by forfeit

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223