Wolverines fall to Prairie Valley, OTC

The Wadena-Deer Creek Wolverines won 10 matches Monday in bowing to Prairie Valley 43-26 and Otter Tail Central 48-30 in the Prairie Valley Triangular at Clarissa. Lee Spencer and Devin Barthel were double winners for the Wolverines. Spencer pinn...


The Wadena-Deer Creek Wolverines won 10 matches Monday in bowing to Prairie Valley 43-26 and Otter Tail Central 48-30 in the Prairie Valley Triangular at Clarissa.

Lee Spencer and Devin Barthel were double winners for the Wolverines. Spencer pinned Prairie Valley's Nolan Hart at the 1:46 match of their 126-pound match and pinned James Holen of Otter Tail Central at 5:48. Barthel defeated Prairie Valley's Zach Ward 22-4 on a technical fall in their 145-pound match. Barthel pinned Kory Juvrud of OTC at the 3:01 mark.

Carter Wright, Tyler Wheeler and Blaine Snyder also won their matches in WDC's loss to Prairie Valley. Isaac Malone, Presley Sleyster and Brandon Monson claimed victories against Otter Tail Central.

Otter Tail Central won the triangular by posting a 51-20 victory over Prairie Valley.


The Wolverines have a road match Thursday at Barnesville and a home match Friday with Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale and Browerville.


Prairie Valley 43, WDC 26

106 Trever Arceneau (PV) pinned Alex Gould (WDC) :22

113 Justin Mattocks (PV) pinned Riley Seifert (WDC) 5:59

120 Double forfeit

126 Lee Spencer (WDC) pinned Nolan Hart (PV) 1:46

132 Carter Wright (WDC) pinned Tom Leeseberg (PV) 3:19


138 Tyler Wheeler (WDC) dec. Mason Nibbe (PV) 4-2

145 Devin Barthel (WDC) tech. fall Zach Ward (PV) 22-4

152 Nic Shircliff (PV) pinned Steven Erckenbrack (WDC) 3:49

160 Kyle Schlosser (PV) won by forfeit

170 Blaine Snyder (WDC) pinned C.J. Marotto (PV) 1:08

182 Dillion Borchert (PV) pinned Presley Sleyster (WDC) :33

195 Josh McKeown (PV) pinned Isaac Malone (WDC) 1:23

220 Eric Brauch (PV) dec. Dylan Johnson (WDC) 6-4 OT


285 Logan Nibbe (PV) maj. dec. Brandon Monson (WDC) 24-11


OTC 48, WDC 30

106 Nate Hart (OTC) pinned Alex Gould (WDC) :22

113 Marc Hendricks (OTC) pinned Riley Siefert (WDC) 5:56

120 Alex Erlandson (OTC) won by forfeit

126 Lee Spencer (WDC) pinned James Holen (OTC) 5:48

132 Sam Naddy (OTC) dec.Carter Wright (WDC) 12-6


138 Aaron Kugler (OTC) dec.Tyler Wheeler (WDC) 4-2

145 Devin Barthel (WDC) pinned Kory Juvrud (OTC) 3:01

152 Noah Minten (OTC) pinned Steven Erkenbrack (WDC) 5:48

160 Noah Thompson (OTC) pinned Blaine Snyder (WDC) 3:52

170 Jacob Mattfield (OTC) won by forfeit

182 Isaac Malone (WDC) pinned Jacob Thompson (OTC) 3:50

195 Presley Sleyster (WDC) pinned 3:50 Nick Haugen (OTC) 3:50

220 Daniel Ukkelberg (OTC) pinned Dylan Johnson (WDC) :07


HWT Brandon Monson (WDC) pinned Ben Cole (OTC) :47

Two WDC grapplers go 3-0

Lee Spencer and Brandon Monson posted 3-0 records Saturday as the Wolverines competed Saturday in the Big Ole Invitational JV tournament at Alexandria.

Tyler Wheeler, Austin Koljonen and Carter Wright all went 2-0 in the tournament.

WDC's Steve Erkenbrack, Presely Sleyster and Riley Siefert were solo winners.

Spencer, Malone notch victories

Lee Spencer and Isaac Malone notched the lone victories for Wadena-Deer Creek Friday as the Wolverines fell to Detroit Lakes 46-6 and Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 72-4 in the PLPRB Triangular at Pequot Lakes.

Malone scored WDC's victory against Detroit Lakes by pinning Tanner Schnathorst at the 5:24 mark of their 182-pound match. Lee Spencer chalked up a major decision against the Road Crew by defeating PLPRB's Lucas McCoy 14-2.


Detroit Lakes won the triangular by defeating PLPRB 40-22.


Detroit Lakes 46, WDC 6

106 Double forfeit

112 Payton Jackson (DL) won by forfeit

120 Double forfeit

126 Logan Twigg (DL) dec. Lee Spencer (WDC) 16-9

132 Luke Payne (DL) won by forfeit

138 Byrant Swiers (DL) won by forfeit

145 Nathan Francis (DL) pinned Devon Barthel (WDC) 3:57

152 Parker Jackson (DL) pinned Austin Koljonen (WDC) 1:47

160 Jarett Nosal (DL) pinned Blaine Snyder (WDC) 1:28

170 Isaac Malone (WDC) pinned Tanner Schnathorst (DL) 5:24

182 Double forfeit

195 Double forfeit

220 Double forfeit

285 James Huwe (DL) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) 3:22



106 Darion Anderson (PLPRB) won by forfeit

113 Anthony Phillipson (PLPRB) won by forfeit

120 Spencer Richards (PLPRB) won by forfeit

126 Lee Spencer (WDC) maj. dec. Lucas McCoy (PLPRB) 14-2

132 Evan Gravdahl (PLPRB) dec. Carter Wright (WDC) 11-9

138 Triston Rubner won by forfeit

145 Jace Loge (PLPRB) dec. Devin Barthel (WDC) 9-4

152 Nick Gravdahl (PLPRB) pinned Tyler Wheeler (WDC) 1:04

160 Ozzy Miller (PLPRB) pinned Blaine Snyder (WDC) 1:00

170 Joe Hamson (PLPRB) won by forfeit

182 Chris Foster (PLPRB) won by forfeit

195 Justin Mackenthun (PLPRB) pinned Isaac Malone (WDC) 3:07

220 Cadel Roeder (PLPRB) won by forfeit

HWT Jared Adkins (PLPRB) won by forfeit

Wolverines gain first team win

Norm Gallant's Wolverines broke into the win column Thursday with a split in a home triangular with Crosby-Ironton and Park Rapids.

The Wolverines won seven straight matches in topping Crosby-Ironton 46-36. Devin Barthel started the streak at 145 after the Rangers had claimed five of the first six matches. The streak brought the Wolverines back from a 30-6 deficit.

"I think that's something we really needed," said WDC head coach Norm Gallant, who has been working with a young squad this season led by a promising crop of freshmen.

Lee Spencer (126), Tyler Wheeler (152), Blaine Snyder (160), Isaac Malone (182) and Dylan Johnson (220) recorded pins for WDC.

Johnson's pin at 220 against Crosby-Ironton's Andrew Gripentrog was the clincher. Johnson took over the weight class because of a knee injury to Caleb Monson.

"For him to get that pin against Crosby was big," Gallant said.

The Wolverines were held to five victories in a 48-31 loss to Park Rapids.

The Panthers notched victories in four of the first six matches. Spencer and Carter Wright gave WDC back-to-back pins at 126 and 132.

Barthel won his second straight major decision at 145 by defeating Cody Dravis 15-7. Snyder won an 8-7 decision at 160 and Malone scored his second pin of the night at 182.

Park Rapids won the triangular by posting a 53-15 win over Crosby-Ironton.


WDC 46, Crosby-Ironton 36

106 Jacob Berg (CI) pinned Alex Gould (WDC) :19

113 Caleb Kreitter (CI) pinned Riley Siefert (WDC) 2:00

120 Kaven Blazek (CI) won by forfeit

126 Lee Spencer (WDC) pinned Zach Champaigne (CI) 1:00

132 Cody Lasher (CI) pinned Carter Wright (WDC) 2:44

138 Brett Nelson (CI) won by forfeit

145 Devin Barthel (WDC) maj. dec. Joe Sura (C-I) 10-1

152 Tyler Wheeler (WDC) pinned Gabe Ryappy (C-I) 1:16

160 Blaine Snyder (WDC) pinned Dustin Sharp (C-I) 2:54

170 Joseph Baker (WDC) won by forfeit

182 Isaac Malone (WDC) pinned Wyatt Sharp (C-I) :14

195 Presley Sleyster (WDC) won by forfeit

220 Dylan Johnson (WDC) pinned Andrew Gripentrog (C-I) 3:49

HWT Cole Grinsteiner (C-I) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) 1:49


Park Rapids 48, WDC 31

106 Landon Burlington (PR) pinned Alex Gould (WDC) :44

113 Dawson Roth (PR) pinned Riley Siefert (WDC) 1:34

120 Andrew Goltz (PR) won by forfeit

126 Lee Spencer (WDC) pinned Jared Sunram (PR) :59

132 Carter Wright (WDC) pinned Nolan Booge (PR) 6:00

138 Logan Johnson (PR) won by forfeit

145 Devin Barthel (WDC) maj. dec. Cody Dravis (PR) 15-7

152 Justin Dravis (PR) pinned Austin Koljonen (WDC) 3:20

160 Blaine Snyder (WDC) dec. Zach Nelson (PR) 8-7

170 Zachary Tretbar (PR) pinned Joseph Baker (WDC) :31

182 John Kyllonen (PR) pinned Presley Sleyster (WDC) :42

195 Isaac Malone (WDC) pinned Keith McDaniel (PR) 1:30

220 Logan Veo (PR) pinned Dylan Johnson (WDC) 1:03

HWT Chris Baxter (PR) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) 1:02

What To Read Next
Get Local