Spring Sports Preview: Trap shooting reaches 10th year at WDC

The trap team adds plenty of new talent this year.

Shaw Shooter.jpg
WDC Trap shoot team member Faith Koning shoots with teammates at Knobhill Sportsman's Club in Wadena.
Contributed / Wadena-Deer Creek Schools

WADENA — The Wadena-Deer Creek trap team is entering their 10th year as a club and blasting their way to greatness after a second place finish in their conference last year.
Coach Chelsa Golberg is assisted by coaches Mike Kenney, Doug Adams and Dan Hahn. The group welcomes in 40 students to the field this year. That includes students in grades 7-12 as well as nine-10 sixth-grade students, who are practicing in house to get a feel for the sport.
"We have a great group of kids who came out this year and we are excited for our season! " Golberg said.

Trap Shoot 2.jpg
WDC trap shooter Nick Manselle shoots at the Knobhill Sportsman's Club with teammates.
Contributed by WDC Schools

The club graduated four seniors last year, (Madyson Moats, Brayden Kleinke, Austin Swenson and Ryan Conn) three of which were in the top 10 of the team. Seniors this year include Carson Kern, Braeden Redfield, Nick Manselle, Chad Dickey Jr, and Ashley Lepinski. It's Lepinski's first year on the team.
Other new shooters this year include:
Abigail Worden (6), Noah Drange (7), Gage Mallak (7), Leo Petrowski (7), Riley Plautz (7), Aaron Toftum (8), Peyton Peterson (8), Ellie Hale (11) and Ella Stroeing (11).
The team shoots weekly and has five weeks of scored competition starting the week of April 18.
Seniors Carson Kern, Braeden Redfield, Nick Manselle, Chad Dickey Jr., and Ashley Lepinski; juniors Brandon Adams, Lance Anderson, Dakota Olson, Dustin Perius, Ellie Hale, Ella Stroeing and Brett Reinke; sophomores Josh Kine, Faith Koning, Macie Moore, Colby Schmid, Ryann Schmidt, Seth Stroeing and Carter Worden; freshmen Logan Grangruth, Vanessa Haataja, Lance Kaufman, Ethan Lepinski, Bradley Moats, Jacob Plautz, Broden Vittetoe and Matthew Wegschied; eighth-graders Blake Haverkamp, Jayden Kenney, Grant Nelson, Conrad Reinke, Aaron Toftum, Peyton Peterson and Charli Snyder; seventh-graders Gunnar Goeden, Noah Drange, Gage Mallak, Leo Petrowski, Riley Plautz.

What To Read Next
Get Local