Weather Forecast


Wolverines take home finale

Colby Schertler, Lleyten Pettit and Max Phillips each scored two goals as the Wadena-Deer Creek boys hockey team rolled to a 7-3 victory in its regular season finale on Feb. 11 at the Wadena Ice Arena.

The two goals by Phillips gave the senior wing 100 for his career. The senior leads the team in scoring with 33 goals and 17 assists for a team high 50 points. He capped off a strong scoring night with a pair of third period goals, one of them coming on the power play.

Justin Dykhoff started the scoring in a fast paced first period. The two teams combined for four first period goals. Dylan Ness assisted on the goal by Dykhoff.

His tally was answered by Griffin Brovold, which evened the game at one. Schertler tallied his first of two goals after the Brovold goal. Pettit and Phillips assisted. It was the first of five points for Phillips and the first of six points for Pettit. Tanner Levin answered with a goal of his own, tying the game at two after a period of play.

However, it was all Wadena-DC after that. Pettit scored two goals in the second period, giving the Wolverines a 4-2 lead. Wyatt Hamann and Phillips assisted on the first goal, while Phillips and Daunte Leiran assisted on the second goal.

The Wolverines padded their lead in the third period when Schertler scored 12 seconds into the period. Pettit picked up the assist on the goal, he finished with four assists in the win.

Adam Olson tallied for Bagley/Fosston as the Flyers tried to comeback, however, it wasn’t enough.

Phillips put the exclamation point on the victory with a pair of late third period goals, which were both assisted by Pettit.

Josh Dykhoff stopped 28 of 31 shots for the win for the Wolverines. His counterpart, Brycen Olson, finished with 46 saves on 53 shots in the loss for Bagley/Fosston.

The Wolverines improved their mark to 10-14-1. It’s the fourth straight season for the Wolverines with double digit victories. The Wolverines are expected to be hosting a home playoff game on Feb. 16 at 7 p.m. when the seedings are officially announced on Feb. 13.

B/F 2 0 1--3

WDC 2 2 3--7


First Period

WDC-Justin Dykhoff, ES, (Dylan Ness)

B/F-Griffin Brovold, ES, (Unassisted)

WDC-Colby Schertler, ES, (Lleyten Pettit, Max Phillips)

B/F-Tanner Levin, ES, (Parker Sunderland)

Second Period

WDC-Lleyten Pettit, ES, (Wyatt Hamann, Max Phillips)

WDC-Lleyten Pettit, PP, (Max Phillips, Daunte Leiran)

Third Period

WDC-Colby Schertler, ES, (Lleyten Pettit)

BF-Adam Olson, ES, (Jacy Benson)

WDC-Max Phillips, ES, (Lleyten Pettit)

WDC-Max Phillips, PP, (Lleyten Pettit)

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223