Weather Forecast


Red-hot Lakers down Wolverines 11-3

Detroit Lakes' Tanner Steele (5) loses control of the puck while going in for a shot against Wadena-Deer Creek goalie Reid Miller (30) in the first period of Thursday's Mid-State Conference game at the Wadena Hockey Arena.

Jon Richards and Ryan DeConcini scored hat tricks and Josh Bollig recorded a playmaker Thursday as the Lakers stormed the past Wadena-Deer Creek 11-3 at the Wadena Hockey Arena.

The Lakers, who are ranked 19th in the latest Class A state hockey poll, won for the fourth straight time. Todd Dwyer's club has been on a tear since the first of the year winning seven of their nine games and gaining a tie in another. The only team to beat the Lakers in January has been a Canadian club from Fort Frances, Ont.

The Lakers pushed six goals past WDC goalie Reid Miller in the first period. Jake Johnson ended a four-goal spree by finding the net at 11:01 with assists from Jake Dykhoff and Austin Sutherland. The Lakers then reeled off five consecutive goals before Jarrett Pettit scored at 14:09 of the second period with an assist from Dylan Phillips. It was Phillips scored the final goal for WDC at the 9:01 mark of the third period with an assist from Sutherland.

The Lakers out-shot the Wolverines 47-16.

The Lakers improved their Mid-State Conference record to 6-0 and their overall mark to 13-5-1. The Wolverines dropped to 1-4 in the conference and 7-13 overall.

Chris Holman and his Wolverines will play a road game with Prairie Centre Thursday and will host Red Lake Falls Saturday.

Detroit Lakes 6 3 2 - 11

WDC 1 1 1 - 3

First Period

DL: Carter Schwan (Jon Richards, Jeric Giwoyna) 6:02

DL: Josh Bollig (unassisted) 8:50

DL: Richards (Ryan DeConcini, Tanner Steele) 9:14

DL: Ryan DeConcini (Cooper Heimark, Bollig) 10:11

WDC: Jake Johnson (Jake Dykhoff, Austin Sutherland) 11:01

DL: Ryan DeConcini 13:20

DL:Richards (Jake DeConcini) 15:18

Second Period

DL: Richards (Bollig, Ryan DeConcini) 1:39

DL: Heimark (Giwoyna) 8:15

DL: Richards (Bollig) 9:55

WDC: Jarrett Pettit (Dylan Phillips) 14:09

Third Period

DL: Tanner Berby (Tyler Berby, Joe Solberg) 0:32

WDC: Phillips (Sutherland) 9:01

DL: Ryan DeConcini 13:59


Reid Miller (WDC) 36; Austin Fritz (DL) 13