We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Student News: Scholarships, academic honorees from area colleges

Scholars logo image fsa.jpg
We are part of The Trust Project.

Minnesota State University Moorhead awarded a $4,000 University Scholarship to an Ottertail resident. The scholarship is over four years with student recipients meeting the eligibility of an ACT score of 21 or higher and a 3.5 GPA, according to a MSUM news release. The local recipient is:

  • Dena Fischer, parents Doug and Amanda Fischer, New York Mills High School

North Dakota State University awarded a Fergus Falls resident the Provost Award for $6,000 and the Henry Bonde Sr. and Helen Bonde Scholarship for $1,000. The scholarships recognize students who scored a 25 to 28 on the ACT and high academic achievement. The recipient is:

  • Ceri Meech, parents Brian and Dawn Meech, grandparents Julanne and Don Meech, Sebeka; Arlene Ludovissie, Staples; David Ludovissie, Wadena.

A McCrackin County High School, Paducah, Ky. honors graduate also earned the Murray State Dean’s Scholarship for $6,000 and a Rotary Scholarship for $1,000. The recipient is:

  • Hallie Ludovissie, parents Paul and Stephanie Ludovissie, grandparents Pat Brichacek, Browerville; Arlene Ludovissie, Staples; David Ludovissie, Wadena, great-grandparents Bethel Brichacek, Browerville; June Cline, Pillager.

The College of St. Scholastica's spring 2020 Dean's List local honorees include:

  • Lisa Dailey, Verndale

  • Ashley Etter, Sebeka

  • Noah Ross, Wadena

On the Rochester Community and Technical College President's List for spring 2020, the local honoree is:


  • Matthew Frost, Bluffton

The University of Minnesota Duluth spring 2020 Dean's List local honorees are:

  • Maia Shepersky, Menahga

  • Rachal Cross, Sebeka

  • Mardi Ehrmantraut, Wadena

  • Brianna Taggart, Wadena

  • Preston Warren, Wadena

The Dean's Honor List at Concordia College Moorhead honorees include the following local students:

  • Morgan Klintworth, Henning

  • Courtney Wiese, Henning

  • Samantha Sabin, Menahga

  • Zachary Strickland, Motley

  • Leah Roberts, New York Mills

  • Maria Isaacson, Sebeka

  • Andrew Bates, Staples

  • Cade Bestland, Staples

  • Grace VanAlst, Verndale

  • Ashley Adams, Wadena

  • Shelly Flagg, Wadena

  • Ashley Lehmkuhl, Wadena

What to read next
It is not safe or legal for farmers to load hay on a state highway.