Voters do not support proposed Wadena sales tax question

Results from election night are preliminary and may change slightly once finalized.

We are part of The Trust Project.

WADENA — There were no surprises in Wadena City Council election this year, with the three candidates all being elected to their seats as expected.
However, the city council and library's hopes of securing a local option sales tax has been dashed by voters who opposed it by a roughly 10% margin.
Election night votes showed 55.8% of voters were opposed to the tax, which would have imposed a quarter percent sales tax on taxable items in the city of Wadena. The difference in the votes were 797 to 632.
In other less surprising votes:
Mayor George Deiss ran unopposed for his seat. He received 1,174 votes.
Council member Mark Lunde also ran for his seat unopposed. He received 768 votes.
Former Wadena City Councilman Dan Sartell ran for the seat of outgoing councilman Bruce Uselman unopposed. He received 1,115 votes.
The mayor seat has a two-year term expiring at the close of 2024. The council seats are four-year terms expiring at the close of 2026.

Other area city council elections show the following results (name, votes):

Wadena County

  • Justin Genosky: 5 votes
  • Vanessa Waldahl: 18 votes

Council member — Faye Baugh: 100%Treasurer — 10 write-ins were received with no announcement of a winner.


  • Karen Candelaria: 39%
  • Elizabeth “Liz” Olson (incumbent): 60.3%

Council member (elect two)Jody Bjornson: 47.9%
Art Huebner (incumbent): 11.2%
Mike Netland: 39.9%




  • David A. Anderson (incumbent): 50.8%
  • Edmund Fennig: 47.9%

Council member (elect two)

  • Michael Grewing: 36.1%
  • Josh Connor (incumbent): 32.7%
  • Mitch Hanson: 30.2%


  • Mayor — Tara Erckenbrack (incumbent): 93.5%
    Council member (elect two)
  • Jim Runyan (incumbent): 33.8%
  • Brad Cottrell: 32.7%
  • Ardith Carr (incumbent): 31.6%

    There was a margin of just four votes between Carr and Cottrell for the second seat.


  • Mayor — Keith Frame: 100% - 29 votes
  • Council member — Coleman Rydie: 23 votes
  • City clerk —Karen Lepinski: 29 votes

East Otter Tail County


  • Mayor — Tim Pavek (incumbent): 96.5%
    Council member (elect 3)
  • Tony Kassa: 98.8%
  • Mary Lou Carlson: 52.4%
  • Brian Nesland: 47.6%

Deer Creek


  • Mayor — Troy Beiswenger (incumbent) : 80.2%
  • Tom Svarvari: 18.8%

    Council member

  • Jayme Earl George: 52.4%
  • Robert B. Lund: 40.4%

New York Mills

  • Mayor — Marsha Maki: 97%
    Council member (elect 2)
  • Eric Hammond: 50.6%
  • Richard Grotheer: 48.5%

Mayor — Ron Grobeck: 93.6%
Council member (elect 2)

  • Jill T. Carlson: 41.1%
  • Elizabeth Augustus: 35.8%
  • Judah Burlingame: 22.1%

Todd County


  • Miles Wirre: 59.8%
  • Jennifer Crider: 39.3%

Council member (elect 2)

  • Trinity Gruenberg: 25.6%
  • Gloriann Bartels: 23.2%
  • Julie Cole Denny: 20.9%
  • Donald D. Fitzgerald: 17.5%
  • Alice Melzer: 12.8%

Special election council member (elect 1)

  • Holly Knutson: 70.4%
  • Marietta Matthews: 29.6%


  • Debra Nelson: 56.1%
  • Steven Greenwaldt: 40.8%

Council member (elect 2): 77 write in ballots were submitted with no winners yet announced.


  • Council member (special election, elect 1)
  • Tyler Hoffman: 35.9%
  • Shari Moller: 63.5%



  • Ron Murray: 58.5%
  • Doug Case: 40.8%

Council member (elect 3)

  • Mary Jo Goff: 22.1%
  • Roy Miles: 20.5%
  • Blake Gerard: 18.4%
  • Benjamin Johnson: 17.6%
  • Lisa Toepper: 17.3%
  • Bhogadia Sean: 3.8%

Staples City Question
Yes: 62.7%
No: 37.3%

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Fire departments were able to extinguish the fire quickly and no injuries were reported. The fire is believed to have started because of a mechanical issue with the vehicle.
Over the last 35 years, we have experienced the decline of the dairy industry, which was the driver of economic well-being in many of our rural areas and small towns.
Those eligible include honorably discharged veterans or the spouse of an eligible veteran who is at least 55 years old and meets residency requirements.
So in short, your auditor-treasurer was correct in saying that if you don’t take the lowest bid, then why bid? So what’s the why? Because Minnesota law requires it.