Seelhammer, Bushinger, Kern tapped to fill Wadena-Deer Creek School board seats

Other area school district results also revealed.

We are part of The Trust Project.

WADENA — Three have been chosen among five candidates for Wadena-Deer Creek School board.
Those receiving the top votes include incumbent Melissa Seelhammer, and newcomers Julie Bushinger and Brandon Kern.
Current board member Ryan Damlo did not get quite enough votes to make a return to the board in 2023.
Vote tallies:
Melissa Seelhammer: 27.4%
Julie Bushinger: 23.2%
Brandon Kern: 19.5%
Ryan Damlo: 16.5%
Kyle Lehmkuhl: 13.2%

Missy Seelhammer head shot.jpg
Melissa Seelhammer
Contributed photo
Julie Bushinger.jpg
Julie Bushinger
Contributed photo
Brandon Kern.jpg
Brandon Kern
Contributed photo

Other area school board results include the following:

Sebeka School District No. 820 (elect four)

  • JoAnn Olson (incumbent): 23.8%
  • Kayla Frame (incumbent): 21.9%
  • Nate Erickson (incumbent): 21.7%
  • Cheri Kangas: 17.6%
  • Russell Johnson (incumbent): 14.8%

Staples-Motley School District No. 2170
School Board member (elect three)

  • Kyle Reese: 23.5%
  • Chandler Trout: 19.6%
  • Ryan Wright: 17%
  • Erich J Heppner: 16.6%
  • Shelly DeCamp: 10.4%
  • Bruce Drone: 12.4%

Staples-Motley school district also had a question on the ballot to extend an existing property tax referendum that is scheduled to expire. Voters opposed the measure 56.5% to 43.5%.


Verndale School District No. 818(elect three)
Tahna Rurup (incumbent) 28.4%
Scott Veronen (incumbent): 38.5%
Write-in: 434 votes, but top vote getter still unknown.

Bertha-Hewitt School District No. 786 (elect four)
Jean Ashbaugh: 21.3%
Sharon Thiel: 20.3%
Keith Bauch: 19.6%
Janelle Bright: 19.6%
Kim Gavin: 16.1%

New York Mills School District No. 553 (elect three)

  • Derek Geiser: 26.9%
  • AmyAnn Mursu: 21.8%
  • Brian Schermerhorn: 21.1%
  • Amy Wallgren: 18.5%
  • Christina Peeters Kickhafer: 11.7%
School board candidate backgrounds
The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022. At the close of that election, three members will be elected to the school board for terms of four years each. Five candidates are running for the three seats.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Fire departments were able to extinguish the fire quickly and no injuries were reported. The fire is believed to have started because of a mechanical issue with the vehicle.
Over the last 35 years, we have experienced the decline of the dairy industry, which was the driver of economic well-being in many of our rural areas and small towns.
Affordable quality is offered at a new auto repair shop near Bluffton.
Those eligible include honorably discharged veterans or the spouse of an eligible veteran who is at least 55 years old and meets residency requirements.