4 commissioner seats open for election following Wadena County redistricting

Districts 1,3, 4 and 5 will be on the 2022 ballot. Districts 1, 3 and 5 were already due for four-year term elections this year; district 4 will be a two-year term.

A map of Minnesota's House districts with different colors and boundaries.
The Minnesota legislative map shows Wadena County as split between District 5A and District 5B. The Wadena County commissioners set the commissioner districts with changes to District 1, 4 and 5.
Screenshot / Minnesota Legislative Coordinating Commission

WADENA — Wadena County finalized their five commissioner districts with four commissioner seats coming on the 2022 ballot.

The districts are analyzed and redistricted following the United States Census. Wadena County saw a slight increase of 222 residents to reach 14,065 residents following the 2020 Census. The city of Wadena saw an increase of 237 residents, Menahga 34, Sebeka 30 and Nimrod 15.

Districts 1, 3 and 5 were already due for four-year term elections this year. District 4 is a two-year term since commissioner Murlyn Kreklau was elected in 2020. Commissioner Mike Weyer, representing District 2, is continuing his term through 2024 and will not run for reelection since there were no changes to his district.

The redistricting brings a larger District 4 with the addition of Meadow Township and Red Eye Township. Kreklau, who represents District 4, noted the one “drawback” as District 4 is larger by 475 residents compared to District 5. The changes will also help avoid redistricting in the future with expected population changes. The district size must be within 10% (up or down) of the average district population of 2,813 residents.

All of Leaf River Township also transitioned to District 1 instead of being split between District 1 and 4.


Following a public hearing on April 12 with six residents, commissioners Sheldon Monson and Weyer noted the new map as “cleaner” and “logical.” The map will hopefully help residents easily know who represents their area. Monson, who represents District 1, is seeking election for House District 5B .

“Throughout the conversations going back and forth there was pretty much a consensus to go with an option which would make District 5 the top three townships in the county so there’d be a little bit of a change there,” said commissioner Jon Kangas who represents District 5.

The districts are as follows:

  • District 1: Leaf River Township, Wadena Township and City of Wadena - Precinct 1 with a total population of 2,888. 
  • District 2: Aldrich Township, City of Aldrich, Bullard Township, City of Staples, Thomastown Township and City of Verndale with a total population of 2,880. 
  • District 3: City of Wadena - Precinct 2 and Precinct 3 with a total population of 2,710. 
  • District 4: Lyons Township, Meadow Township, City of Nimrod, North Germany Township, Orton Township, Red Eye Township, Rockwood Township, City of Sebeka and Wing River Township with a total population of 3,031. 
  • District 5: Blueberry Township, Huntersville Township, City of Menahga and Shell River Township with a total population of 2,556.
Rebecca Mitchell started as a Digital Content Producer for the Post Bulletin in August 2022. She specializes in feature reporting as well as enhancing online articles. Readers can reach Rebecca at 507-285-7681 or
What To Read Next
Get Local