Graduation is right around the corner and some students at M State are preparing for their final days at the community college. At a student awards ceremony April 30, several people were recognized for their academic vigor and accomplishments within the school.

Chelsie Isacson has been named as this year's student speaker. During the awards ceremony she was singled out for perseverance, an accolade hard earned.

Isacson started her education journey at M State in 2014 by working on general credits. After taking an anatomy and physiology course, she realized her love for science and applied care through nursing. She quickly enrolled in nursing classes and didn't look back. Isacson went on to praise the modular nature of M State.

"I think it's a personalized education," said Isacson. She explained that faculty members take a vested interest in the success of their students.

Isacson has plans to pursue a bachelors degree and has been accepted to Bemidji State University. She's also applied to NDSU and other institutions. Being a single mother, student, and nurse will pose unique challenges for the young scholar. Currently she is biding her time and seeing which school and curriculum will allow her to carefully juggle every aspect of her busy life.

Adam Regier is on the path to graduation after two long years of studying electrical technology. After graduation he plans to move to the Duluth area to pursue a career as an electrician. When asked about his time at M-State, Regier complimented the dedicated staff. Regier chose his career field because of the societal necessity for the skill set. Job availability and good livable wage were very important to the future electrical worker. He received an award for his hard work in the electrical technology program.

M State is graduating 851 students in May. Graduation events are open to the public. Wadena ceremonies will be held at the Wadena-Deer Creek High School at 5:30 p.m., Friday, May 10.

M State students recognized

Program Academic Excellence

• Electrical Lineworker: Jordan Carpenter

• Electrical Technology: Adam Regier

• HVAC/R: Peyton Rademacher

• Massage Therapy: Linda Goble

• Nursing - Generic RN: Beth Heltunen

• Nursing - Mobility: Jessica Berg

• Liberal Arts AAS: Adreen Johnson-Hall

• Science: Jennifer Johnson

Perseverance Award

Chelsie Isacson

Student Leader of the Year

Holly Saehr