Question: I have a question about carrying a driver's license while operating a vehicle. It was passed on to me that in Minnesota one must have the driver's license in the front seat area or glove compartment. Having it in a purse or backpack in the backseat or trunk is not allowed. Is this correct information? If so, what is the reason?
Question: Do I need an oversize or wide load permit to haul a boat lift that is over nine feet wide to my cabin? Answer: You would need to obtain a permit because the width is over 8 feet 6 inches. Hauling oversized items without a permit or escorts (if required) can be dangerous and is illegal. Troopers and private escort companies are required to be trained and certified. An oversize and/or overweight permit is required when: • An overall loaded width exceeds 8 feet 6 inches. • An overall loaded height exceeds 13 feet 6 inches.
Question: If I sell my vehicle to a private party, what do you recommend I do to protect myself in the event the new owner gets into a crash or is arrested prior to them transferring the title into their name? Answer: This can be an issue for you if the vehicle you sold is ever involved in a hit and run or pursuit and the driver flees the scene. Law enforcement may be contacting the registered owner in an attempt to locate that person who was driving.
Question: Can a person park their camper trailer in the ditch of a highway? Answer: Leaving or parking a camper or travel trailer in the ditch or on any highway right-of-way is illegal. A highway right-of-way typically extends near the top of the outside slope. It would only be allowed where signs designate it as a campsite.
Question: What is the proper way to address a patrol officer, if the rank is unknown? Answer: This is a good question and really depends on the law enforcement organization. Here are the ways to address a law enforcement member from each organization below if you're uncertain of their rank: • State Patrol — trooper • Local/Municipal Agency — officer • Sheriff's Office — deputy • Department of Natural Resources — officer
Question: Can a young driver with a North Dakota Driving Permit legally drive in Minnesota? How about in other states? Answer: No, they cannot legally drive in Minnesota. In Minnesota, a nonresident who is at least 15 years old may drive here if they have in their immediate possession a valid driver's license from their home state or country. If you are traveling in other states, I would recommend checking with them on their laws prior to making your trip.
Question: When the speed limit is changing on a road, does the new speed limit start at the sign, or does it start when you can see the sign? Answer: The speed limit zone area becomes effective at the point you reach the sign. So if the speed limit sign/zone changes to a slower speed, slow down before the sign and not after. If the speed limit changes to a higher speed, wait until you get to the increased speed limit sign before increasing your speed.
Question: Some of my fellow bus drivers and are I are debating if it is legal for a public transit bus to stop in a traffic lane, with the four way flashers activated, to load or unload passengers. Specifically in a downtown area. There are semi-trucks and delivery trucks that do this on a regular basis to load and unload deliveries. So what would be the difference between a bus and a truck?
Question: Can I be stopped by law enforcement if the third brake light on the rear dash goes out and both brake lights still work? Answer: Yes you can. Brake lights are very important on any vehicle as they allow other motorists to know when you are slowing and stopping. Under Minnesota law, a vehicle equipped with a third brake light that is not working would be in violation of the statute. Minnesota statute says that when a vehicle is equipped with stop lamps or signal lamps, such lamps shall at all times be maintained in good working condition.
Question: I recently purchased a 2018 Polaris Ranger. We have a 2-year old son and I am wondering what the laws are. Does he need to be in a car seat or booster seat with a helmet? Thank you in advance. Answer: When riding on ATVs, OHVs and motorcycles, a passenger under age 18 must: • Wear an approved helmet when riding on public lands or waters, or on a public road right-of-way.