Question: What are the seat belt law exemptions in Minnesota? Answer: Law enforcement is focused on educating the public on the dangers of not wearing a seatbelt in a motor vehicle. Working as a state trooper for the last 18 years, I have seen the tragic outcomes that result all too often when not wearing a seatbelt. I encourage everyone to use a seatbelt if possible. With that said, there are some exemptions (MN state statute 169.686 Sub2): • A person driving a passenger vehicle in reverse. • When all belts are occupied by other persons.
Question: Isn't it a state law that trucks that haul loose loads such as gravel and granite pieces must have their loads covered? I have lived at my current address for 40 years now and I have seen very few of these kinds of loads covered. With the winds that we have combined with the fast rate of speed these trucks travel, it makes for a very dangerous condition to walkers and drivers along and on a highway.
Question: I've noticed that the tabs on our license plates change color every year. Who decides what color the Minnesota registration tabs on license plates should be? Answer: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) use five colors for registration stickers: red, gold, blue, green and white. DVS chose those colors with the intention that they will be easily visible and recognizable for law enforcement.
Question: I like to drive with my tailgate down on my pickup for better gas mileage. The other day, a friend told me this was illegal. Is that true?
Question: I have heard a lot about "click it or ticket" recently, I thought seatbelt use was at an all-time high? Answer: The 2015 Minnesota Seat Belt Survey shows 94 percent compliance for front seat occupants. In 1987, there were 4,176 vehicle occupants who suffered severe injuries in traffic crashes — that number has dropped substantially to 745 in 2015. In a three year period (2013 — 2015), 44 percent of the 832 people killed in motor vehicle crashes were not wearing seat belts. In 2015 alone, 91 unbelted motorists lost their lives on Minnesota roads.
Question: Can you talk about what is legal when it comes to ATV operation and where they can be operated? Answer: When it comes to all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) laws and regulations it all depends on what type of ATV you have and where it will be operated. There are two classes of ATVs. This had changed on July 1, 2015. Class 1 is an ATV with a total width of 50 inches or less. Class 2 is an ATV with a total width that is greater than 50 inches but not more than 65 inches wide. ATV general operations
Question: My son is involved in school patrol at his school and I would like to know more about Legionville School Patrol Camp. Answer: There is a lot of information about Legionville School Patrol Training Camp. The Camp is where school patrol students are taught the fundamentals of school patrol, school bus safety, bicycle and pedestrian safety. It is located just north of Brainerd, and it operated by the American Legion, using State Patrol Troopers as instructors. I will be one of the instructors again this year.
Question: I am trying to figure out if it is required to register a towable concrete mixer in the state of Minnesota? Please see the attached picture, your help would be greatly appreciated. Answer: This concrete mixer would qualify as special mobile equipment and would not be registered with the state. They do, however, need to be equipped with all required lights and reflectors along with the proper hitch and safety chains if they are going to be towed on the highway.
Question: When there is a vehicle mishap, it is reported to the public that alcohol did or did not play a part. What about a cell phone? Also, there is never any mention that drugs did or did not play a part in the mishap. With the known wide-spread availability/use of drugs, shouldn't this also be a determination in a vehicle mishap?
Question: With all this attention to distracted driving recently, I know that a person can "talk" on a cell phone while driving if they are 18 years old or older. I understand that it is illegal for anyone under that age to be "on a cell phone." Does that apply to a "hands free" device such as a "blue tooth?" Answer: Anyone under 18 years of age may not operate a vehicle while using a cell phone whether handheld or hands free, when the vehicle is in motion. A driver with a provisional license may use a cell phone to call 911 in case of an emergency.