Weather Forecast


WDCP squad bows to Long Prairie-Grey Eagle

WDC’s Barnabus Busa, left, and Chris-tian Hinckley battled Long Prairie-Grey Eagle’s No. 1 doubles team Monday on the Wadena courts.

A polished Long Prairie-Grey Eagle tennis squad breezed past Wadena-Deer Creek/Perham 6-1 Monday on the Wadena courts.

WDCP’s Kris Hansen and Mike Botzet teamed up to defeat Dan Bachmeier and Edger Cabreza 6-3, 6-0 at No. 2 doubles.


Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 6,

Wadena-Deer Creek/Perham 1


1 Laine Larson (LPGE) def. Mike Paavola (WDCP) 7-5, 4-6, 7-5

2 Trevor Bergmann (LPGE) def. Drew Larson (WDCP) 6-3, 6-2

3 Mitch Welters (LPGE) def. Shane Perry (WDCP) 6-1, 6-1

4 Ryan Welters (LPGE) def. Austin Andreen (WDCP) 6-3, 6-4


1 Tavis Bergman-Paul Chan (LPGE) def. Barnabus Busa-Christian Hinckley (WDCP) 6-1, 6-1

2 Kris Hansen-Mike Botzet (WDCP) def. Dan Bachmeier-Edger Cabreza (LPGE) 6-3, 6-0

3 Valtteri Nurmimen-Nic Abraham (LPGE) def. Tyler Wieser-Matthews-Fikri Rahmat (WDCP) 7-5, 6-3

Paavola takes top honors

Wadena-Deer Creek/Perham No. 1 singles player Mike Paavola claimed two victories in the Mid-State Conference meet May 9 at Park Rapids.

Paavola was a 6-2, 6-1 winner over Park Rapids' Josh Johnson. He lost his first match with Detroit Lakes’ Isaac Fondrick 6-3 but rallied for a pair of 6-1 victories.

Drew Larson, Shane Perry and Austin Andreen gained splits for the WDCP squad at second, third and fourth singles.

Larson was stopped by Detroit Lakes’ Alex Fondrick 6-0, 6-4 but defeated Park Rapids’ Iain Wallace 6-0, 6-0.

Perry lost to Long Prairie-Grey Eagle’s Mitch Welters 6-4, 6-0 but topped Park Rapids’ Zach Tretbar 6-1, 7-5.

Andreen lost to LPGE’s Ryan Welter’s 6-1, 6-2 but evened his record by downing Park Rapids’ Tristan Hendrickson 6-1, 6-1.

Doubles action saw WDCP’s No. 2 team of Mike Botzet and Kris Hansen beating Detroit Lakes’ Brady Crawford and Dylan Bremseth 6-2, 6-3 but losing to Jeff Dickenson and Nick Lopez of Park Rapids 6-1, 6-1.

Tyler Wieser-Matthews and Fikri Rahmat lost to Park Rapids’ Jaden Olson and Jackson Kimball 6-4, 1-6, 6-10 but triumphed over Dan Backmeier and Nic Abraham of LPGE 0-6, 6-3, 10-6.

Mid-State Conference


1 Mike Paavola (WDCP) def. Josh Johnson (Park Rapids) 6-2, 6-1

Paavola def. Isaac Fondrick (Detroit Lakes) 3-6, 6-1, 6-1

2 Alex Fondrick (DL) def. Drew Larson (WDCP) 6-0, 6-4

Larson (WDCP) def. Iain Wallace (PR) 6-0, 6-0

3 Mitch Welters (Long Prairie-Grey Eagle) def. Shane Perry (WDCP) 6-4, 6-0

Perry (WDCP) def. Zach Tretbar (PR) 6-1, 7-5

4 Ryan Welters (LPGE) def. Austin Andreen (WDCP) 6-1, 6-2

Andreen (WDCP) def. Tristan Hendrickson (PR) 6-1, 6-1



1 Travis Bergman-Paul Chan (LPGE) def. Christian Hinckley-Barnabus Busa (WDCP) 6-0, 6-0

Chandler Hanks-Austin Nelson (DL) def. Hinckley- Busa (WDCP) 6-3, 6-1

2 Mike Botzet-Kris Hansen (WDCP) def. Brady Crawford-Dylan Bremseth (DL) 6-2, 6-3

Jeff Dickenson-Nick Lopez (PR) def. Botzet-Hanson (WDCP) 6-1, 6-1

3 Jaden Olson-Jackson Kimball (PR) def. Tyler Wieser-Matthews-Fikri Rahmat (WDCP) 4-6, 6-1, 10-6

Wieser-Matthews-Rahmat (WDCP) def. Dan Backmeier-Nic Abraham (LPGE) 0-6, 6-3, 10-6