Weather Forecast


Raiders have three section qualifiers back

Kenny Miller has 27 athletes from the top six grades competing this season on his Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale girls’ track and field team.

The Raiders saw four of their girls advance to the Section 6A meet in five different events last year at Moorhead State. Kathryn VanDenheuvel, a 2012 graduate, advanced in the high jump while Samara Tobeck went in the shot put, Krista Dailey advanced in the shot put and discus and Kasey Willis competed in the 300 hurdles.

Miller took his team to the Bemidji Lions Indoor in March and saw Willis place second in the 60 hurdles with an 11.15 and eighth in the 400 dash with a 1:09.8. Dailey and Tobeck placed fourth and fifth in the shot put with respective throws of 32-1 and 29-7.5.

Miller has four seniors to lead his 2013 squad – Ashlyn Carlson (sprints, relays), Amanda Ojeda (sprints), Francesca Adheo (sprints) and Domitille Andrieu (sprints). Making up his strong junior class along with Tobek, Dailey and Willis are Savanna Buderus (distance), Brittany Bloch (sprints, relays, jumps), Cami Warren (sprints, relays, jumps) and Cara Carsjens (weights). The sophomore class offers McKenzie Richter (mid-distance, distance), Nikola Schulz (mid-distance, distance) Rumor Stokes (mid-distance, jumps), Britnie Woida (distance), Victoria Moore (weights), and Jessica Wright (sprints). Taylor Shamp (distance, jumps), Abby Foy (sprints, relays), Kathryn Barrett (hurdles, relays) and Sam Kveton (sprints, relays) are freshmen. Eighth and seventh-graders include Becca Conn (sprints), Hanna Costner (distance, jumps), Aubree Seals (sprints, relays), Amy Ismil (hurdles, relays), Devin Gesme (sprints, jumps) and Tianna Saxum (sprints, relays).

“Having Krista and Samara challenge in the throwing events along with Kasey in the 300 hurdles are the obvious strong points,” Miller said. “We will also be able to put together a couple of quality spring relay teams that could challenge for the conference titles.”

The Raiders are slated to compete in Pillager Invitational April 18.