Weather Forecast


Card places fifth in state wrestling tournament

Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale’s Dillon Card reached the medal round in his second Class A state wrestling tournament March 1 by claiming fifth-place honors in the 182-pound weight class.

The BHV sophomore won his final match of the tournament by injury default against Collin Huckbody of Walker-Hackensack-Akeley-Nevis.

Card entered state tournament competition ranked third at 182. He decisioned Canby’s Christian Full 4-1 in the first round and then fell into wrestlebacks by losing a 7-4 decision to Huckbody. Card pinned Jackson County Central’s Tanner Menke at the 3:12 mark and decisioned Travis Wills of Kimball Area 2-0 before losing to United South Central’s Colten Carlson 8-1.

Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale’s Anthony Kern and Hunter Truax both wrestled twice at state.

Kern was blanked by Minneota’s Brock Buysse 6-0 in his first match at 106. Kern faced Chatfield’s Jared Goldsmith in wrestlebacks and fell 4-0.

Truax was defeated in his first match at 285 by Minneapolis Patrick Henry’s Kelsey Bocek on a fall at 1:24. Truax faced former Wadena-Deer Creek standout Tony Reurink in wrestlebacks and was pinned by the Frazee heavyweight at the 3:27 mark.

Wadena-Deer Creek standout Sam Waln’s state mat experience amounted to six minutes as he lost an 8-3 decision to 126-pound foe Jared Willaby of Windom-Mountain Lake. Willaby went on to take sixth place.

“It was one of those matches were Sam wrestled hard and wrestled well,” Wadena-Deer Creek Head Coach Norm Gallant said. “The (Windom-Mountain Lake) kid was really the kind of guy that hung on. Flat out, the kid beat him on his feet.”

Waln ended his senior year with a 27-5 mark. He led the Wolverines in takedowns, major decisions and technical falls.

“He didn’t lose a match between the Big Bear (Dec. 14-15) and the finals of the conference tournament (Jan. 25). Waln recorded his 75th career victory during the season and won the 132-pound class in the Big Ole Tournament in Alexandria Feb. 2 despite having recently recovered from the flu.

New York Mills’ Shane Novak placed second at 120, losing to Louie Sanders of Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area 9-7 in the finals.




106 Austin Anderly, LeSueur-Henderson dec. Seth Elwood, Medford 8-2. 113 Cameron Sykora, Border West tech fall Spencer Jenniges, Wabasso/Red Rock Central 5:28 16-1. 120 Louie Sanders, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area dec. Shane Novak, New York Mills 9-7. 126  Quinten Berres, Kimball Area dec. Tyler Tensen, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 5-2. 132 Eliot Jurries, Jackson County Central dec. Harvey Friederichs, Chatfield 5-1. 138 Taner Trembley, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area dec. Hunter Retzlaff, Sibley East 1-0. 145  Larry Bomstad, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City dec. Paden Moore, Jackson County Central 4-2. 152 Garret Hoffner, Mahnomen-Waubun dec. Zachary Carlson, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 6-5. 160 Adam Cooling, Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther dec. Jordon Rothers, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 2-1. 170 Darick Vancura, Jackson County Central dec. Niko Anderson, Fillmore Central/Lanesboro/M-C 5-2. 182 Will Balow, Lake City major dec. Patrick Rooney, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 13-4. 195 Nathan Rose, Sibley East dec. Kysten Zierke, Blue Earth Area 11-4. 220 Lucas Damm, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City pinned Chase Norton, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 2:51. 285 Lance Briard, River Valley dec. Jarrod Grunklee, Blooming Prairie 3-1.


106  Brendon Coyer, Osakis dec. Wyatt Stevens, Windom/Mountain Lake 7-6. 113 Blane Tschida, Kimball Area dec. Joey Majerus, Zumbrota-Mazeppa 6-5. 120  Hank Friederichs, Chatfield dec. Jordan Biehn, Jackson County Central 6-2. 126  Tyler Keller, Medford dec. Kyle Drehmel, Goodhue 6-4. 132  Dylan Herman, United South Central pinned T J Fulton, Wabasso/Red Rock Central 2:29. 138  Logan Peterson, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City dec. Marcus Hamer, Kimball Area 3-1. 145  Tanner Rohlik, Wabasso/Red Rock Central dec. Trevor Scott, Holdingford 7-3. 152  Chris Pfarr, LeSueur-Henderson major dec. Brady Bos, Pipestone Area 12-2. 160  Keegan Moore, Jackson County Central dec. Mitch Lange, Royalton-Upsala 10-5. 170  Aaron Bates, Sibley East dec. Maverick Whitcomb, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City 5-2. 182  Porter Secrist, Wabasha-Kellogg-Alma dec. Colten Carlson, United South Central 5-2. 195  Tyler Patron, New York Mills dec. Lucas Etchason, Triton 3-2. 220  Ryan Tipcke, Goodhue dec. Kyle Johnson, Barnesville 2-1. 285  Kelsey Bocek, Minneapolis Patrick Henry dec. Tyler Jenson, Benson 3-0.


106  Brock Buysse, Minneota dec. Jared Clawiter, Kenyon-Wanamingo 2-0. 113  Joe Fischenich, Windom/Mountain Lake dec. Zack Kuhns, Maple River 7-4. 120  James Goman, Trinity School at River Ridge pinned Zach Blonigen, Eden Valley-Watkins :30. 126  Jason Meyer, Sibley East dec. Jared Willaby, Windom/Mountain Lake 2X OT 4-3. 132  Gus McCarthy, Border West dec. Austin Brockhoff, Sibley East OT 6-4. 138  Bruce Lemon, Frazee pinned Brian Wold, Aitkin 1:04. 145  Shane Siewert, Lake City dec. Jerod Novak, Aitkin 7-1. 152  Sam McPhail, Pine Island won by default Luke Norland, Jackson County Central . 160  Austin Maanum, Border West major dec. Carter Hanson, Blue Earth Area 12-4. 170  John Westman, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River pinned Tyler Ziegler, Frazee 1:48. 182  Dillon Card, Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale won by default Collin Huckbody, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis . 195  Justin Viss, Chatfield dec. Colton Laymon, West Marshall 7-2. 220  Taylor Carlson, United North Central won by default Christopher Zimmer, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis . 285  Alex Schroepfer, Wabasso/Red Rock Central pinned Nick Langer, Kenyon-Wanamingo 4:09.