Weather Forecast


Raiders split in season finale

The Bertha-Hewitt Raiders beat Breckenridge/Campbell-Tintah 60-22, but lost to Border West 39-31 Tuesday in their regular season finale at Bertha.

Border West crushed BCT 55-18 for top honors in the triangular.

Anthony Kern, Dillon Card, Hayden Truax, Dalton Baker, Justin Cordon and Hunter Truax were all double winners for the Raiders.

The fourth-ranked Raiders will now host fifth-ranked Pelican Rapids Tuesday in a 7 p.m. Section 6A team match on the Bertha-Hewitt mats. The winning team will advance to Wadena on Feb. 16 for semifinal and final round action a 1 p.m. and 3 p.m.

Card posts victory in PRC Tournament

Dillon Card was a champion at 182 Feb. 2 as the Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale Raiders finished fifth in the Park Region Conference Tournament at New York Mills.

The host team Eagles took top honors with 197.5 points. United North Central was right behind with 194. The Raiders tacked up 109 points.

Card posted a 7-2 victory in his title match with New York Mills' Noah Pesola.

BHV heavyweight Hunter Truax Swanson lost a tough 7-5 decision in his 285-pound championship match with Logan Nibbe.

BHV's Anthony Kern and Marshall Willis captured third place finishes at 106 and 126. Nick Bennett finished fourth at 160. Justin Gordon was fifth at 120 and Dalton Baker was fifth at 220. Andrew Cihlar came up with a sixth-place finish at 145.

Park Region Conference Wrestling Tournament

Team Results

New York Mills 197.5, United North Central 194, Osakis 139.5, Royalton/Upsala 136, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale 109, Otter Tail Central 94, Browerville 78, West Central Area 68, Prairie Valley 63, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 58

Individual championship matches

106 Brendon Coyer (O) dec. Noah Becker (F) 4-2

113 Trenton Coyer (O) dec. Sam Naddy (OTC) 6-3

120 Shane Novak (NYM) maj. dec. Miguel Ambriz (LPGE) 11-1

126 Jake Malone (UNC) pinned Austin Haman (NYM) 1:21

132 Adam Sutlief (B) dec. Tyler Ehnert (NYM) 3-0

138 Max Pajari (UNC) dec. Brad Kroll (RU) 10-6

145 Royal Crow (WCA) won by forfeit

152 Kacee Skoog (NYM) dec. Austin Rollag (O) 5-1

160 Mitch Lange (RU) pinned Gunner Flynn (NYM) :27

170 Dylan Huttunen (UNC) dec. Austin Butler (B) 8-6

182 Dillon Card (BHV) dec. Noah Pesola (NYM) 7-2

195 Tyler Patron (NYM) dec. Tony Gadacz (RU) 3-2

220 Tyler Schlosser (PV) dec. Taylor Carlson (UNC) 4-3

285 Logan Nibbe (PV) dec. Hunter Truax (BHV) 7-5