Weather Forecast


WDC grapplers earn fifth place finish

Wadena-Deer Creek's Devin Barthel goes for a pin in his 132-pound match with Otter Tail Central's Coy Thorson Jan. 17. Barthel defeated Thorson 8-7. Photo by Brian Hansel, Pioneer Journal

Norm Gallant's Wolverines rallied from a 60-15 loss to Crookston to beat Mahnomen-Waubun 41-39 and toppled Red Lake County Central 60-23 Monday in the Mahnomen-Waubun Duals.

WDC 120-pounder Tristin Godel was the only Wolverine to win all three of his matches. Godel ran his victory string to nine straight after a 0-3 start.

Caleb Monson and Tristian Baker came up with pins at 220 and 285 to rally the Wolverines over Mahomen-Waubun.

"It was another example of our team wrestling well together and getting contributions from throughout the line-up," WDC Head Coach Norm Gallant said.

Seven forfeits helped the Wolverines trounce Red Lake County Central.

The Wolverines will compete at Park Rapids on Tuesday.

Crookston 60, WDC 15

106 Preston Derosier (Crx) pinned Carter Wright (WDC) 4:58

113 Colton Weiland (Crx) dec. Lee Spencer (WDC) 9-4

120 Tristin Godel (WDC) dec. Kyle Caputo (Crx) 4-2

126 Shad Steer (Crx) maj. dec. Blaine Snyder (WDC) 13-1

132 Cody Weiland (Crx) pinned Devin Barthel (WDC) 1:04

138 Nate Merten (Crx) pinned Austin Koljonen (WDC) 1:26

145 Josh Lawson (WDC) pinned Cody Erickson (Crx) 3:21

152 Wyatt Hanson (Crx) pinned Jake Waln (WDC) :49

160 Blake Bergeron (Crx) won by forfeit

170 Zach Lutz (Crx) won by forfeit

182 Luke Edlund (Crx) pinned Isaac Malone (WDC) 3:47

195 Caleb Monson (WDC) pinned Jesse Bosquez (Crx) 5:22

220 Josh Edlund (Crx) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) :26

HWT A.J. Biermaier (Crx) pinned Tristian Baker (WDC) :20

WDC 41, Mahnomen-Waubun 39

106 Carter Wright (WDC) tech. fall Mike Bisek (MW) 20-3

113 Lee Spencer (WDC) pinned Shawn Neisen (MW) :30

120 Tristin Godel (WDC) fall over Sequoya Tonihka (MW) :26

126 Kole Lefebvre (MW) pinned Blaine Snyder (WDC) 2:00

132 Devin Barthel (WDC) pinned Nick Syverson (MW) 3:12

138 Ryan McArthur (MW) tech. fall Austin Koljonen (WDC) 17-2

145 Kody Lefebvre (MW) major dec. Josh Lawson (WDC) 9-0

152 Gene Snetsinger (MW) pinned Jake Waln (WDC) :50

160 Jonathan Hoffner (MW) won by forfeit

170 Dallas Lanoue (MW) won by forfeit

182 Isaac Malone (WDC) won by forfeit

195 Kal Handyside (MW) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) 2:53

220 Caleb Monson (WDC) pinned Miguel Tanihka-Martinez (MW) 1:41

HWT Tristian Baker (WDC) pinned Alex Medina (MW) :23

WDC 60, RLCC 23

106 Carter Wright (WDC) pinned Dylan Gustafson (RLCC) 1:21

113 Lee Spencer (WDC) won by forfeit

120 Tristin Godel (WDC) pinned Tyler Sandahl (RLCC) 1:44

126 Blaine Snyder (WDC) won by forfeit

132 Devin Barthel (WDC) won by forfeit

138 Cody Gagner (RLCC) pinned Austin Koljonen (WDC) 1:06

145 Josh Lawson (WDC) won by forfeit

152 Jake Waln (WDC) won by forfeit

160 Jake Magnell (RLCC) won by forfeit

170 Cameron Lundeer (RLCC) won by forfeit

182 Isaac Malone (WDC) pinned James Hanson (RLCC) 3:56

195 Brandon Monson (WDC) won by forfeit

220 Blake DeHate (RLCC) tech. fall Caleb Monson (WDC) 16-0

HWT Tristian Baker (WDC) won by forfeit

Wolverines split triangular with Otter Tail Central, Prairie Valley mat squads

Four Wolverines racked up two victories apiece Jan. 17 as the Wolverines split with Otter Tail Central and Prairie Valley.

Carter Wright, Tristin Godel, Sam Waln and Devin Barthel were double winners for Wadena-Deer Creek. Wright won twice at 106. Godel won at 120 and 126, Waln earned victories at 126 and 132 and Barthel triumphed at 132 and 138.

The Wolverines gained a 7-7 split in victories with OTC and won eight of their 14 matches with Prairie Valley.

Otter Tail Central 42, Wadena-Deer Creek 37

106 Carter Wright (WDC) pinned James Holen (OTC) 3:29

113 Sam Naddy (OTC) pinned Lee Spencer (WDC) 5:25

120 Tristin Godel (WDC) pinned Stephen Araca (OTC) 5:59

126 Sam Waln (WDC) major dec. Dylan Schwartz (OTC) 12-4

132 Devin Barthel (WDC) dec. Coy Thorson (OTC) 8-7

138 Ausin Koljonen (WDC) pinned Aaron Kugler (OTC) 1:18

145 Josh Lawson (WDC) pinned Noah Minten (OTC) 3:03

152 Austin Montgomery (OTC) pinned Jake Waln (WDC) 1:16

160 Darius Erlandson (OTC) won by forfeit

170 Daniel Ukkelberg (OTC) won by injury default over Isaac Malone (WDC)

182 Soshiro Tachibana (OTC) won by forfeit

195 Aaron Bengtson (OTC) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) :31

220 Caleb Monson (WDC) pinned Shane Woody (OTC) 3:34

HWT Brandon Danielski (OTC) pinned Tristian Baker (WDC) :27

Wadena-Deer Creek 45, Prairie Valley 30

106 Carter Wright (WDC) won by forfeit

113 Nolan Hart (PV) pinned Lee Spencer (WDC) 1:11

120 Corie Hurtig (WDC) won by forfeit

126 Tristian Godel (WDC) dec. Tom Leeseberg (PV) 7-0

132 Sam Waln (WDC) pinned Derek Leeseberg (PV) 1:36

138 Devin Barthel (WDC) pinned Bryce Looker (PV) 3:53

145 Josh Lawson (WDC) pinned Kyle Schlosser (PV) 5:47

152 Jake Waln (WDC) won by forfeit

160 Dillion Burchert (PV) won by forfeit

170 Josh McKeown (PV) won by forfeit

182 Double forfeit

195 Tyler Schlosser (PV) pinned Caleb Monson (WDC) 1:52

220 Brandon Monson (WDC) won by forfeit

HWT Logan Nibbe (PV) pinned Tristian Baker (WDC) 1:51