Weather Forecast


Larson, Paavola, Korkowski advance in Section 8A

Wadena-Deer Creek singles player Drew Larson and the doubles duo of Mike Paavola and Austin Korkowski advanced through the first round of the Section 8A Individual Tournament Tuesday.

Larson rallied from a 6-2 loss to defeat Staples-Motley's Matt Spar 6-4, 6-4.

Paavola and Korkowski won their first round test with Perham's Dillon Shields and Jordan Cresap 6-4, 6-1.

Section 8A Individual Tournament

(First Round)


Logan Engelstad (Thief River Falls) over Matt Green (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

Drew Larson (WDC) over Matt Spar (Staples-Motley) 2-6, 6-4, 6-4


Mike Paavola-Austin Korkowski (WDC) over Dillon Shields-Jordan Cresap (Perham) 6-4, 6-1

Guthrie Coughlin-Austin Hirschey (Staples-Motley) over Shane Perry-Eliah Anderson (WDC) 6-3, 6-4

Wolverines ousted in 8A team tournament play

The Wolverines drew top-seeded Thief River Falls in Monday's Section 8A team tournament and lost in straight sets to the polished Prowlers.

The Prowlers, who finished fourth in the 2011 Class A state tournament, earned a return trip to state by following up their victory over WDC with a 6-1 win over East Grand Forks and a 5-2 win over Crookston in the championship finals.

Section 8A Team Tournament

Thief River Falls 7, Wadena-Deer Creek 0


1 Logan Engelstad (TRF) over Austin Korkowski (WDC) 6-0, 6-2

2 David Szeto (TRF) over Mike Paavola (WDC) 6-0, 6-1

3 Chris Borseth (TRF) over Drew Larson (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

4 Nathan Bates (TRF) won by default


1 Jorde Hutton-Fabian Tunburg (TRF) over Shane Perry-Matt Green (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

2 Tanner Nessen-Hunter Blowers (TRF) over Kyung Kim-Mike Small (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

3 Cullen Horien-Sam Olson (TRF) won by default