Weather Forecast


Birch, VanErp make Mid-State team

Wadena-Deer Creek's Ben Birch and Evan VanErp have been named to the All Mid-State Conference boys' basketball team for the 2011-2012 season.

Detroit Lakes placed four cagers on the Mid-State team: Joe Mollberg, Rick Hutchinson, Brian Labat and Kirk McLeod. Named from the Pequot Lakes squad were Nevin Greer, Jordan Redmond and Logan Lange. Crosby-Ironton placed Caleb Baker and Michael Hoge. Grant Longbella was Staples-Motley's lone selection while Tyler McCollum was Park Rapids' all-conference pick.

WDC's Ryan Redfield received honorable mention. Other honorable mention recipients were Crosby-Ironton's Daniel Hudrlik and Jacob Goodwin, Staples-Motley's Seth Auger and Kyle Janssen, Pequot Lake's Riley Johnson and Park Rapids' Christopher Goplerud.

Mollberg was chosen the Mid-State's Most Valuable Player and Robb Flint was named the Coach of the Year.