Weather Forecast


Vikes overcome Wolverines in Section 6A tournament

Photo by Brian Hansel Tony Reurink goes for a pin in his 220-pound match Tuesday night in the Section 6A team wrestling tournament.

The ninth-seeded Pelican Rapids Vikings cashed in on four forfeits Tuesday to oust eighth-seeded Wadena-Deer Creek from the Section 6A team tournament 42-29 on the New York Mills mats.

Tristin Godel, Josh Lawson, Jacob Ludovissie, Isaac Malone and Tony Reurink notched victories for the Wolverines. Godel decisioned Dan Franco 4-2 at 106 while Lawson decisioned Robert Mazariagos 6-3 at 132. Malone surprised Alex Diaz with his a pin at the 5:43 mark of the final period in their 160-pound match. Ludovissie and Monson earned victories by forfeit. Reurink went right after 220-pound foe Mohammad Carbo and pinned him in 59 seconds.

The Vikings advanced to face top-seeded New York Mills in the second match Tuesday night in Mills and lost a 65-7 decision.

New York Mills meets Border West and Barnesville tangles with Breckenridge/Campbell-Tintah Saturday at West Central Area in Section 6A semifinal team action. The winners of the 1 p.m. semifinal matches meet at 3 p.m. to decide Section 6A's representative at the Class A state tournament. The state tournament is set March 1-3 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

The Wolverines will now start preparing for the Section 6A individual tournament Feb. 24-25 at West Central Area.

Section 6A Team

Pelican Rapids 42,

Wadena-Deer Creek 29

106 Tristin Godel (WDC) dec. Dan Franco (PR) 4-2

113 Dakota Pixley (PR) fall over Corey Hurtig (WDC) :58

120 Jesus Romero (PR) dec. Sam Waln (WDC) 5-2

126 Carlos Guitierrez (PR) dec. Devin Barthel (WDC) 4-3

132 Josh Lawson (WDC) dec. Robert Mazariagos (PR) 6-3

138 Ray Elizondo (PR) won by forfeit

145 Josh Klovstad (PR) won by forfeit

152 Jacob Ludovissie (WDC) won by forfeit

160 Issac Malone (WDC) fall Alex Diaz (PR) 5:43

170 Hobet Diaz (PR) won by forfeit

182 Ben Barrigen (PR) won by forfeit

195 Caleb Monson (WDC) won by forfeit

220 Tony Reurink (WDC) fall Mohammad Carbo (PR) :59

285 Anwar Sharmake (PR) fall Tristin Baker (WDC) :31

Barnesville 43, WDC 19

Norm Gallant's Wolverines claimed six of the nine matches they wrestled Thursday night in their regular season finale with the Trojans.

Tristin Godel dominated his 106-pound match with Zac Anderson to end the season with a 16-7 record. Anderson lost for just the 10th time in 34 matches.

Mitch Steffens continued to roll at 113 with a 21-8 major decision over Conner Meyer, a highly-touted eighth-grader who will take a 23-10 record into the post-season.

Sam Waln gave the Wolverines their third straight victory at 120 when he edged Stuart Brandt 2-1 with a late takedown. The victory gave Waln a team-best 28-7 record. Brandt lost for the ninth time in 36 matches.

The Trojans came back behind victories at 126 and 132 by Kyler Votava and Rylee Anderson and then went ahead on forfeits to Seth Hirsch at 138 and Jace Nosel at 145.

Jacob Ludovissie upped his record to 17-16 at 152 by edging Hunter Olson 7-6 with a late reversal.

"Jake wrestled to the absolute end and had a lot of confidence in himself and what he can do," Gallant said.

WDC's Isaac Malone took advantage of a caution call in overtime to nip Andrew Trowbridge 7-6 at 170.

Tony Reurink improved his record to 24-8 in a showdown with Barnesville's Kyle Johnson at 220. Reurink rallied from a 3-2 deficit and won the match with a takedown at the buzzer.

Barnesville 43, WDC 19

106 Tristin Godel (WDC) dec. Zac Anderson (B) 7-3

113 Mitch Steffens (WDC) maj. dec. Conner Meyer (B) 21-8

120 Sam Waln (WDC) dec. Stuart Brandt (B) 2-1

126 Kyler Votava (B) dec. Devin Barthel (WDC) 6-2

132 Rylee Anderson (B) maj. dec. Josh Lawson (WDC) 10-0

138 Seth Hirsch (B) won by forfeit

145 Jace Nosel (B) won by forfeit

152 Jacob Ludovissie (WDC) dec. Hunter Olson (B) 5-4

160 Isaac Goedtke (B) won by forfeit

170 Isaac Malone (WDC) dec. Andrew Trowbridge (B) 7-6 OT

182 Dana Berg (B) won by forfeit

195 Maverick Brady (B) pinned Caleb Monson (WDC) 3:25

220 Tony Reurink (WDC) dec. Kyle Johnson (B) 5-3

285 Alex Wheelwright (B) won by forfeit