Weather Forecast


Cards stack up 49-21 mat victory over Wolverines

Photo by Brian Hansel. Jake Waln escapes a hold by Pelican Rapids' Brian Gomez in their 120-pound match Thursday in the Wadena-Deer Creek Elementary gym. Gomez won a 14-8 decision.

The Staples-Motley Cardinals captured victories in nine of 14 weight classes Tuesday as they chalked up a 49-21 Mid-State Conference mat win over Wadena-Deer Creek.

Tristan Wold pinned Staples-Motley's Jake Bendson at the 1:54 mark at 106 before the Cardinals won six straight matches.

The Cards built a 40-12 lead before Tony Reurink topped David DeYonge 4-3 at 220 and Mason Lohmiller pinned Brandon Hosier at 1:51 in their 285-pound match.

Three WDC grapplers go undefeated at Mahnomen

Tristan Godel (106), Tony Reurink (195) and Mason Lohmiller (285) all posted 3-0 records Friday as the Wolverines claimed one of three dual matches in the Mahnomen/Waubun Duals.

The Wolverines took a 55-22 pounding from United North Central in the opening round but rallied to defeat Red Lake County Central 48-24 and earn a shot at fifth place. They tangled with the hometown Cougars the fifth place match and lost a 43-42 squeaker.

Pelican Rapids 42, Wadena-Deer Creek 32

Harold Holt's Vikings won eight of 14 weights Thursday in defeating the Wolverines.

Winning matches for the Wolverines were Sam Waln (113), Devin Barthel (132) Josh Lawson (138), Jake Ludovissie (160), Tony Reurink (195) and Caleb Monson (220).

The Wolverines gave up 18 points on forfeits.

Pelican Rapids 42, WDC 32

106 Daniel Franco (PR) dec. Tristin Godel (WDC) 3-1

113 Sam Waln (WDC) pinned Dakota Pixley (PR) 2:45

120 Brian Gomez (PR) dec. Jake Waln (WDC) 14-8

126 Jesus Romero (PR) won by forfeit

132 Devin Barthel (WDC) pinned Carlos Guiterrez (PR) 3:30

138 Josh Lawson (WDC) dec. Ray Elizondo (PR) 7-16

145 Hoshe Mortez (PR) pinned Tyler Wheeler (WDC) 1:24

152 Josh Klovstad (PR) won by forfeit

160 Jacob Ludovissie (WDC) tech. fall over Alex Diaz (PR) 4:00

170 Ben Barragan (PR) pinned Isaac Malone (WDC) 1:03

182 Jed Edensono (PR) won by forfeit

195 Tony Reurink (WDC) pinned Jordan Mohr (PR) 3:40

220 Caleb Monson (WDC) won by forfeit

285 Muhammed Carbo (PR) pinned Mason Lohmiller (WDC) 3:20