Weather Forecast


Paige Hartman named Wolverine girls' tennis MVP

Paige Hartman has been named MVP of Wadena-Deer Creek Wolverines girls' tennis team for her play during the 2011 season.

Hartman took on the No. 1 singles position when Macy Hartman was unable to start the season due to off-season knee surgery. Paige went to the No. 2 singles spot after Macy's return and both players were named to the Mid-State All-Conference team.

Other team awards went to Elise Kallevig (Spirit), Erin Johnson (Most Improved), Macy Hartman (Hustle) and Sarah Najjar (Wolverine).

Kallevig, Johnson, Najjar, the Hartmans, Anna Kraemer, Marie Hunt, Abby Wegscheid, Hanna Jacobson and Molly Kraemer earned varsity letters.

Junior Varsity members were also recognized for their contributions to the 2011 team. Wadena-Deer Creek's JV squad included Macy Folkestad, JoDanna Albers, Samantha Kirkland, DarylAnn Webb, Hope Norenberg, LaRissa Evans-Masio, Whitney Eickhoff and Greta Nyhus. Nyhus received the JV Spirit Award and Eickhoff was 2011's Most Improved Player. The Wolverines finished 1-5 in the conference and 2-13 overall.