Weather Forecast


Wolverines place ninth, 11th at PR

The Wadena-Deer Creek girls and boys cross country teams placed ninth and 11th respectively Monday in the Park Rapids Invitational at the Headwaters Golf Course.

WDC's Emma Schmitz had a strong race as she paced the WDC girls with a sixth place time of 15:34.19. The WDC freshman earned all-conference honors at Staples Oct. 13. Roseau freshman Madeline Huglen placed four seconds in front of Schmitz with a time of 15:34.19. Other top five times belonged to Park Rapids' Lydia Lutz (14:48.06), Lake of the Woods' Victoria Alexander (15:09.84), Warroad's Gretta Brunelle (15:11.53) and Pelican Rapids' Emily Bakken (15:23.69).

Rounding out the WDC finishers were Liz Peterson with a 53rd place time of 18:02.14, Brianna Rosenthal with a 57th place time of 18:08.90, Gabrielle Ross with a 61st place time of 18:18.77 and Sydney Greenwaldt, with a 67th place time of 19:08.69.

Park Rapids edged Perham 61-62 for top team honors in the girls' race.

WDC's Neil Janson ran 32nd in a field of 113 boys posting a time of 18:21.03. Finishing behind the veteran harrier were Joey Pate with a 48th place time of 19:08.48, Brody Wangsness with a 57th place time of 19:42.64, Austin Sutherland with an 83rd place time of 20:48.57, Toby Wood with an 88th place time of 21:06.30 and Joe Najjar with a 105th place time of 23:59.50.

Brady Speicher paced the formidable Perham Yellowjackets with a winning time of 16:42.68. Others finishing in the Top Five were Perham's Nick Carignan (16:49.88), Dalton Dahms (17:04.51 and Jayden Cullen (17:05.93) along with Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton's Tyler Hennen (17:04.51).

The Yellowjackets dominated the boys' race with a score of 25. Detroit Lakes was a distant second with 58.

The Section 8A cross country meet is slated for Friday, Oct. 28, in Bagley. Schmitz placed 11th in the 2010 meet with a time of 16:06.22. The Top 10 individual finishers in both the boys' and girls' races advance to the Class A state meet Saturday, Nov. 5, at St. Olaf College in Northfield.

"I guess our best shot would be Emma (Schmitz)," WDC Head Coach Terry Olson said. "She ran well in the last two meets and the conference meet. She's got a really good chance."

Park Rapids Invitational


Perham 25, Detroit Lakes 58, Pelican Rapids 142, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 151, Thief River Falls 165, Park Rapids 165, Pequot Lakes 205, Roseau 244, Hawley-Ulen-Hitterdal 258, Bagley Fosston 273, Wadena-Deer Creek 296, Warroad 298, West Central Area 301, Lake of Woods 390, Lake Park-Audubon 415

Individual winner: Brady Speicher (Perham) 16:42.68

WDC: Neil Janson, 32nd, 18:21.03; Joey Pate, 48th, 19:08.48; Brody Wangsness, 57th, 19:42.64; Austin Sutherland, 83rd, 20:48.57; Toby Wood, 88th, 21:06.30; Joseph Najjar, 105th, 23:59.50


Park Rapids 61, Perham 62, Warroad 102, Pequot Lakes 114, Roseau 137, Pelican Rapids 143, Detroit Lakes 159, West Central Area 182, Wadena-Deer Creek 204, Lake Park-Audubon 226

Individual winner: Lydia Lutz (PR) 14:48.06

WDC: Emma Schmitz, 6th, 15:34.19; Elizabeth Peterson, 53rd, 18:02.14; Brianna Rosenthal, 57th, 18:08.90; Gabrielle Ross, 61st, 18:18.77; Sydney Greenwaldt, 67th, 19:08.69

Schmitz earns Mid-State All-Conference honors at Staples

Wadena-Deer Creek's Emma Schmitz gained all-conference honors with a runner-up finish Thursday in the Mid-State Conference meet at Staples.

Schmitz ran a 16:17.56 to finish No. 2 behind Park Rapids' Lydia Lutz, who ran a winning 15:41.75.

Neil Janson paced the WDC boys with a 19th place time of 18:39.71. Joey Pate and Brody Wangsness placed 34th and 37th with times of 19:38.84 and 19:47.97. Austin Sutherland and Toby Wood were 45th and 46th with times of 20:22.04 and 20:24.62. Joey Najjar ran a 48th place time of 20:53.79 as the Wolverines racked up a 181 score.

Park Rapids' Isaac Overmyer won the meet with a 17:22.36.

The Top 10 finishers in the varsity races earned all-conference honors.

WDC's Liz Peterson won the JV meet in 18 minutes flat. Gabi Ross and Sydney Greenwaldt finished 10th and 19th with times of 19:20 and 21.01.

Mid-State Conference


Detroit Lakes 40, Crosby-Ironton 42, Staples-Motley 108, Park Rapids 108, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 109, Pequot Lakes 126, Wadena-Deer Creek 181

Individual winner: Isaac Overmyer (PR) 17:22.36

WDC: Neil Janson, 19th, 18:39.71, Joseph Pate, 34th, 19:38.84, Brody Wangsness, 37th, 19:47.97, Austin Sutherland, 45th, 20:22.04, Toby Wood, 46th, 20:24.62, Joey Najjar, 48th, 20:53.79


Park Rapids 43, Detroit Lakes 68, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 75, Pequot Lakes 82, Crosby-Ironton 100, Staples-Motley 136, Wadena-Deer Creek incomplete

Individual winner: Lydia Lutz (PR) 15:41.75

WDC: Emma Schmitz, 2nd, 16:17.56