Weather Forecast


Schmitz, Janson pace WDC harriers in Perham Classic

WDC's Neil Janson runs in the 5K boys' varsity race Oct. 6 at the Perham Harrier Classic.1 / 2
Photos by Bob Williams/EOT Focus Above, Brianna Rosenthal competes for Wadena-Deer Creek Oct. 6 in the Perham Harrier Classic.2 / 2

Wadena-Deer Creek's Emma Schmitz placed 25th and Neil Janson finished 39th Thursday in the Perham Yellowjackets Harrier Classic Thursday at Arvig Park.

Schmitz turned in a time of 16:54.62 in the girls' varsity 4K race. Fergus Falls' Haylie Zenner posted the winning time of 15:13.92. Rounding out the Top Five were Moorhead's Taylor Janssen with a 15:29.07, Park Rapids' Lydia Lutz with a 15:29.07, Pelican Rapids' Emily Bakken with a 15:36.57 and Roseau's Madeline Huglen with a 15:38.96.

Moorhead won the girls' meet with four finishes in the Top 10. Fergus Falls placed second with 83 and Park Rapids was third with 57.

Janson ran the 5K in a time of 18:35.63 while varsity teammates Joey Pate and Brody Wangsness finished 56th and 75th with times of 19:37.50 and 20:38.42.

Moorhead's Glen Ellingson, Ezra Olson and Matthew Lillehaugen led the Spuds to a winning 20-point finish by posting the top three times in the boys' race. Ellingson ran a 16:10.60 while Olson turned in a 16:44.21 and Lillehaugen ran a 16:52.97.

Rounding out the Top Five were Perham's Brady Speicher and Billy Beseman with times of 17:05.43 and 17:11.42.

The Yellowjackets placed second in the boys' meet with 47 points.

The bulk of WDC's team this year are younger runners and this junior high group was paced by Austin Sutherland's fourth-place time of 11:51. Toby Wood was eighth with a 12:07, Liz Peterson was fifth with a 13:21, Gabby Ross was ninth with a 13:39 and Joe Najjar was 52nd with a 13:45.

Brianna Rosenthal ran 12th in the junior varsity race with an 18:28 whie Sydney Greenwaldt and Shaye Blessing finished 38th and 39th with times of 21:27 and 21:28.

Perham Yellowjackets Harrier Classic


Moorhead 20, Perham 47, Detroit Lakes 97, Otter Tail Central 131, Fergus Falls 154, Pelican Rapids 183, DGF 184, Park Rapids 206, Bagley/Fosston 256, Roseau 264, West Central Area 283, Lake Park-Audubon 344

Individual winner: Glen Ellingson (Mhd) 16:10.60


Moorhead 36, Fergus Falls 83, Park Rapids 97, Perham 112, Detroit Lakes 140, Pelican Rapids 182, Roseau 187, United North Central 195, West Central Area 202, Trek-North 244, Lake Park-Audubon 267

Individual winner: Haylie Zenner (FF) 15:13