Weather Forecast


Three Wolverines qualify for Class A state mat tournament

Photo by Brian Hansel Jared Wegscheid controls Breckenridge opponent Josh Peterson in their 140-pound match Friday in the Section 6A tournament at West Central. Wegscheid was one of three WDC wrestlers to qualify for state.1 / 3
Photo by Brian Hansel Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale's Justin Gordon makes a move on Breckenridge opponent Conrad Kondos in a 103-pound match. Kondos went on to take second and Gordon placed sixth.2 / 3
Photo by Brian Hansel Wadena-Deer Creek's Derrick Rude pins Breckenridge foe Zach Willprecht in a first-round match at the Section 6A meet.3 / 3

Three Wadena-Deer Creek wrestlers claimed runner-up honors in the Section 6A Individual Wrestling Tournament Saturday in Barrett.

Seniors Jared Wegscheid (140) and Dylan Anderson (285) were joined in qualifying for the Class A state tournament by sophomore Tony Reurink (215).

Wegscheid and Reurink both had to withstand True Second challenges.

Wegscheid scored a pin at the 5:34 mark in his match with Pelican Rapids' Cris Bakken after falling 8-3 in the 140-pound title match with West Central Area's Kyle Martineau.

Reurink lost to Border West's Billy Connelly in the 215-pound semifinals but he earned a shot at Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale's Dylan Koppendrayer in a True Second match. The two wrestlers were tied 1-1 at the end of regulation time. Reurink scored a leg takedown to give him a 3-1 win in overtime.

Anderson faced Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale standout Colin Turchin in the 285-pound finals and was pinned at the 51 second mark.

WDC seniors Jacob Wegscheid and Jordan Rentz both came up short in their bid to return to the state tournament. Wegscheid lost a 6-4 decision to New York Mills' Peter Stark in the third place match. Wegscheid closed out the season with a 27-10 record and ended his career with a 96-86 mark. Rentz earned a fifth place finish by pinning Mills' Andrew Mindermann. Rentz lost in overtime in the consolation semifinals. Rentz finished the season with a 27-13 mark. His 117-69 career mark is the 15th best in team history.

Senior Isaac Lustila was a fourth-place finisher in the 189-pound weight class. Lustila was eliminated when he lost to New York Mills' Tyler Patron on a technical fall at the 5:56 mark. Lustila notched a regular season record of 24-16 and racked up 65 pins during his career.

WDC's Sam Waln challenged Conrad Kondos of Breckenridge in a True Second match at 103 which the Breck wrestler won 11-1.

Finishing fifth for the Wolverines at 112 was Devin Barthel. Josh Lawson and Zach Bernus were sixth at 119 and 125.

Section 6A team champion Border West had eight wrestlers qualify for state in the individual tournament. The Bucs had six champions.

WDC's Mike Kenney, Jerry Breid, Curt Leeseberg, Keith Hagen, Marc Reynolds and Scott Endres were named the Section 6A Assistant Coaching Staff of the Year.

Parkers Prairie senior Chad Knapp was honored during tournament for his spirit and courage. The 140-pounder has cerebral palsy but still wrestled 15 matches during the year.

Section 6A Individual Tournament

(Championship & True Second Matches)


Cameron Sykora (Border West) dec. Conrod Kondos (Breckenridge) 12-6

True Second

Kondos maj. dec. Sam Waln (Wadena-Deer Creek) 11-1


Mitch Andrews (Border West) dec. Shane Novak (New York Mills) 3-2


Will McCarthy (Border West) tech. fall Zach Johnson (Otter Tail Central) 3:18


Gus McCarthy (Border West) dec. Greg Blum (Otter Tail Central) 3-2


Taylor McCalip (Border West) dec. Zach Matthys (Otter Tail Central) 8-7

True Second

Matthys dec. Seth Hirsch (Barnesville) 5-3


Jim Cossette (Pelican Rapids) dec. Seth Felland (West Central Area) 6-4

True Second

Felland tech. fall Jesse Differding (Breckenridge) 2:00


Kyle Martineau (West Central Area) dec. Jared Wegscheid (Wadena-Deer Creek) 8-3

True Second

Wegscheid pinned Cris Bakken (Pelican Rapids) 5:34


Tyler Olson (Otter Tail Central) dec. Austin Maanum (Border West) 3-1


Brendan Hart (Otter Tail Central) dec. Derrick Rude (Wadena-Deer Creek) 3-2

True Second

Seth Hofland (New York Mills) dec. Rude 5-1


Stephen Erlandson (Breckenridge) pinned Jon Pikop (West Central Area) :31

True Second

Pikop pinned Austin Rinke (Border West) 3-1


Kevin Hahn (Parkers Prairie) dec. Charlie Maanum (Border West) 4-1

True Second

Noah Pesola (New York Mills) dec. Maanum 10-4


Greg Erlandson (Breckenridge) dec. Wylie Pullis (Border West) 12-6

True Second

Pullis pinned Tyler Patron (New York Mills) 5:16


Billy Connelly (Border West) pinned Dylan Koppendrayer (Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale) 2:54

True Second

Tony Reurink (Wadena-Deer Creek) dec. Koppendrayer 3-1 OT


Colin Turchin (Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale) pinned Dylan Anderson (Wadena-Deer Creek) :51