Weather Forecast


Lustila cuts weight, earns championship

Photo by Brian Hansel Wadena-Deer Creek's Jared Wegscheid notched a pin over New York Mills' Michael Meyer in the 140-pound match last Thursday in Deer Creek.

Wadena-Deer Creek's Isaac Lustila overpowered Casey Krieger of KMS for the 171-pound championship Saturday in the Big Ole Tournament at Alexandria.

Lustila, who usually wrestles at 189 for the Wolverines, pinned Casey Krieger of KMS at the 5:38 mark.

WDC's Jared Wegscheid and Tony Reurink earned runner-up finishes. Wegscheid lost to KMS standout Jordon Rothers 5-0 in the 140-pound finals. Reurink challenged Frazee's Rick Brandt for top honors in the 215 bracket but fell 7-0 in the finals.

Earning third-place finishes for the Wolverines were Jordan Rentz at 135, Jacob Wegscheid at 145 and Derrick Rude at 152. Rentz bounced back from an 18-9 loss to Moorhead's Joe Carpenter in the opening round to decision Jessie Engler of KMS 8-1 in the third place match. Wegscheid lost to eventual 145-pound champ Jordan Hemmesch of Rocori on a fall at 1:53 but took third place with a dominating 21-8 decision over Minnewaska's Zach Steffensen. Rude lost to 152-pound runner-up Cody Piper of Frazee 3-2 but pinned Adam Doraska of KMS at the 2:08 mark in their third-place match.

Five Hornets won mat titles as Frazee won the team title with 226.5 points. The Wolverines placed fourth with 130 points.

Alexandria Big Ole Tournament

Team Scoring: Frazee 226.5, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 178, Moorhead 150.5, Wadena-Deer Creek 130, Morris Area 97.5, Minnewaska 96, Rocori 82, Alexandria 59

Championship Matches

103 Jordan Engler (KMS) dec. Trent Piepenburg (Alex) 3-1

112 Jacob Braaten (MINN) pinned Kenny Mark (MHD) 4:17

119 Jordan Kohler (F) dec. Jacob Rositas (MHD) 3-1

125 Tanner Ellenburg (F) pinned Dylan Gertken (R) 4:33

130 Klinton Van Heuveln (KMS) pinned Wade Hukreide (F) 4:49

135 Myrel Schermerhorn (F) pinned Joe Carpenter (MHD) 2:39

140 Jordan Rothers (KMS) dec. Jared Wegscheid (WDC) 5-0

145 Jordan Hemmesch (R) Maj. Dec. Aaron Doraska (KMS) 15-6

152 Tim Ostby (MA) dec. Cody Piper (F) 3-2

160 Chase Morlock (MHD) dec. Cole Ellison (Alex) 5-2

171 Isaac Lustila (WDC) pinned Casey Krieger (KMS) 5:38

189 Kody Lafraniere/Sorenson (F) pinned Myrvan Halleland (KMS) 5:52

215 Rick Brandt (F) dec. Tony Reurink (WDC) 7-0

275 Zach Gibson (MA) pinned Danny Holtkamp (MINN) 2:46

WDC 36, New York Mills 30

Norm Gallant's Wolverines edged the Eagles Thursday in the first match to be held in the Deer Creek gym since 1991.

Sam Waln decisioned state-ranked Tommy Selander 6-2 at 103 to get the Wolverines started. The Eagles won three of the next four matches as Shane Novak, Tyler Ehnert and Taylor Eriksrud gave Mills a 15-9 lead.

Jordan Rentz, Jared Wegscheid and Jacob Wegscheid rallied the Wolverines with three straight victories at 135, 140 and 145.

Trailing 21-15, the Eagles doubled their score by winning at 152, 171 and 189 behind Seth Hofland, Noah Pesola and Max Carlson.

Tony Reurink's pin at 215 over Tyler Patron tied the match at 30-all. WDC's Dylan Anderson won the heavyweight match by forfeit.

Wadena-Deer Creek 36,

New York Mills 30

103 Sam Waln (WDC) dec. Tommy Selander (NYM) 6-2

112 Shane Novak (NYM) pinned Devin Barthel (WDC) 3:19

119 Josh Lawson (WDC) pinned Andrew Perola (NYM) 3:03

125 Tyler Ehnert (NYM) dec. Zach Bernu (WDC) 7-2

130 Taylor Eriksrud (NYM) won by forfeit

135 Jordan Rentz (WDC) dec. Kyle Vordebruggen (NYM) 8-2

140 Jared Wegscheid (WDC) pinned Michael Meyer (NYM) 5:06

145 Jacob Wegscheid (WDC) dec. Peter Stark (NYM) 5-1

152 Seth Hofland (NYM) dec. Jake Ludovissie (WDC) 8-3

160 Derrick Rude (WDC) dec. Ty Bell (NYM) 9-4

171 Noah Pesola (NYM) pinned Isaac Lustila (WDC) 4:55

189 Max Carlson (NYM) pinned Caleb Monson (WDC) 1:03

215 Tony Reurink (WDC) pinned Tyler Patron (NYM) :32

Hwt Dylan Anderson (WDC) won by forfeit