Weather Forecast


Schmitz places 11th in Section 8A meet

Emma Schmitz made a strong bid for a trip to the Class A state cross country meet last Friday in the Section 8A Cross Country meet at Bagley.

The Wadena-Deer Creek eighth-grader finished 11th in the field of 125 runners with a time of 16:06.22. The Top 10 finishers in the race qualified for the state meet.

Lake of the Woods' Victoria Alexander won the race with a 15:16.37. Park Rapids' Lydia Lutz was second with a time of 15:32.53.

The Perham Yellowjackets took top honors with 84 points.

WDC's Evelyn Kumano placed 125th in the race with a time of 24.12.35.

The Wadena-Deer Creek boys team placed 11th in the 16-team meet with 254 points. Perham placed first with 26 points.

Bryon Schuldt of Nevis won the individual title with a time of 16:15.41.

Wadena-Deer Creek's Neil Janson was 32nd with a time of 18:26.64. Joey Pate, Zach Bernu and Will Eliason placed 54th, 56th and 57th with time3s of 19:02.51, 19:05.05 and 19:06.05. Brody Wangness was 82nd with a time of 20:05.85 and Lukas Krueger was 104th with a time of 21:21.91.

The Class A state meet will be held Saturday at St. Olaf College in Northfield beginning at 10 a.m.

Section 8A Cross Country Results

Girls: Perham 84, Park Rapids Area 102, Warroad 113, Roseau 115, Staples-Motley 125, Lake of the Woods 156, Hawley/Ulen-Hitterdal 181, Pelican Rapids 190, Pequot Lakes 199, Pillager 254, Thief River Falls 266, East Grand Forks 283, Trek North 333, Frazee 399, United North Central 403, Pine River-Backus 430, West Marshall 434

State Qualifiers

Victoria Alexander (LOTW) 15:16.37, Lydia Lutz (PRA) 15:32.53, Madeline Huglen (Ros) 15:35.16,

Lisa Reichert (S-M) 15:38.09, Lindsay Fast (War) 15:46.78, Gretta Brunelle (War) 15:51.75,

Emily Bakken (PR) 15:56.38, Cassie Beseman (Per) 15:59.06, Marissa Carlson (B/F) 15:59.56, Janae Pahlen (Ros) 16:00.95

Boys: Perham 26, Thief River Falls 74, Staples-Motley 155, Park Rapids Area 161, Bagley-Fosston 182, Roseau 187, Hawley/Ulen-Hitterdal 205, Warroad 230, Pequot Lakes 240, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 244, Wadena-Deer Creek 254, United North Central 343, Frazee 359, Lake of the Woods 371, Pine River-Backus 386, Pelican Rapids 397

State Qualifiers

Bryon Schuldt (Nevis) 16:15.41, Brenden Skime (TRF) 16:30.54, Keith Schornack (Per) 16:34.79,

Jonathan Miller (UNC) 16:37.71, Klaus Weber (Per) 16:38.59, Nick Carignan (Per) 16:50.97,

Tyler Hennen (DGF) 17:08.95, Brandon Karels (Per) 17:10.25, Brady Speicher (Per) 17:11.28, Mikey Ryan (PL) 12:12.61