Weather Forecast


Trojans claim Class A state runner-up honors

The Sebeka Trojans earned runner-up honors in the Class A state baseball tournament Saturday falling to Eden Valley-Watkins 7-4 in the title game at Target Field in Minneapolis.

The Trojans held a 4-1 lead after two innings but the Eagles rallied with six runs over the next four innings.

Kevin Kramer went 3-for-4 in the victory and drove in two runs. Matt Geislinger went 2-for-3 with two ribbies.

Paul Funk went 3-for-4 in the loss.

Geislinger improved his mound record to 12-0 with a five-inning relief effort behind starter Tyler Geislinger.

Alex Brockpahler was hung with the loss. Brockpahler ended the season with a 9-2 record.

Edin Valley-Watkins ended the season with a 27-0 record. The Trojans closed out the year with a 21-6 mark.

The Trojans made the finals by edging Deer River 5-4 in the semifinals.

Sebeka broke a 4-4 tie when John Kinnunen doubled and Cody Pulju singled with two out.

Kinnunen swung the big bat for Sebeka, collecting three hits in four trips, scoring twice and driving in two runs.

Funk notched the win with 2 1/3 innings of relief work. Taylor Pederson started on the hill for Sebeka.

Vickerman drove in two runs for Deer River. Benson and Benham both collected two hits.

Brenen Brockpahler led a 13-hit attack with three hits of his own as the Trojans roughed up Southland 12-3 in the opening round.

Pulju, Pederson and Alex Brockpahler all collected two hits and three RBIs for the Trojans. Kinnunen came up with two hits and two runs.

Alex Brockpahler was in charge on the hill with a complete game effort. Brockpahler surrendered five walks but only four hits while striking out seven.

Mitch Nagele took the loss for Southland.

Adam Kiefer went 2-for-4 at the plate for Southland and drove in two runs.

Alex and Brenen Brockpahler and Funk were all selected to the All-State Tournament team.

Sebeka 205 003 2 - 12 13 1

Southland 001 011 0 - 3 4 5

Alex Brockpahler and Josh Kinnunen; Mitch Nagele, Chris May (3) and Clint Bergene

WP- Brockpahler; LP- Nagele

HR- Mielke (S)

Deer River 000 040 0 - 4 8 2

Sebeka 010 120 1 ­- 5 10 2

Cody Willis, Luke Benson (5) and Benson, Damon Benham; Taylor Pederson, Paul Funk (5) and Josh Kinnunen

WP- Funk; LP- Benson

Sebeka 220 000 0 - 4 6 2

EV-W 101 032 x - 7 11 1

Alex Brockpahler and Josh Kinnunen; Tyler Geislinger, Matt Geislinger (3) and Brendan Ashton

WP- M. Geislinger; LP- Brockpahler