Weather Forecast


Wolverines name Steffens MVP

Mitch Steffens has been chosen the MVP of the 2009-2010 Wadena-Deer Creek wrestling team.

Steffens qualified for his first state tournament by placing second at 112 in the individual section tournament. Steffens claimed one of his three matches at state and qualified for the National Coaches Association Championships where he placed sixth with a 4-3 record.

Other varsity awards went to Aaron Uselman (most improved), Uselman and Jordan Rentz (best teammate), Sam Waln (rookie of the year), Rentz and Tony Reurink (most dedicated) and Nolan Johnson (most coachable).

Fans of the year were Ron and Gretchen Noon.

Devin Barthel received the junior varsity's MVP award. Other special awards went to Dylan Anderson (most dedicated), Tristin Godel (rookie of the year) and Caleb Monson (most improved).