Weather Forecast


Three WDC wrestlers take away state experience for next year

Photo by Michael Vosburg/The Forum Jake Braaten of Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale flies over Caleb Lanoue of Mahnomen-Waubun during their 135-pound Class A quarterfinal match Thursday during the Minnesota Wrestling Tournament in St. Paul. Lanoue won the match 7-3.1 / 3
Photo by Michael Vosburg/The Forum Mitch Steffens of Wadena-Deer Creek controls Zach Keller of Medford in their 112-pound Class A match Wednesday, March 3 during the Minnesota Wrestling Tournament in St. Paul.2 / 3
Photo by Michael Vosburg/The Forum Jacob Wegscheid of Wadena-Deer Creek, top, struggles with Brett Pfarr of LeSueur-Henderson in their 140-pound Class A match Wednesday during the Minnesota Wrestling Tournament in St. Paul.3 / 3

Wadena-Deer Creek wrestling coach Norm Gallant saw his three state entries gain a lot of experience last week at the Class A state wrestling tournament.

Mitch Steffens posted WDC's only victory of the tournament in the 112-pound wrestlebacks. After losing a tough 2-0 decision to Medford's Zach Keller Wednesday in his first state match, the WDC sophomore defeated Kimball Area's Tanner Mills 8-2 before falling to Sibley East's Alan Bates 5-4.

Jordan Rentz lost his first round match at 130 Wednesday to Royalton-Upsala's Odin Guerard and never got another chance to wrestle.

"He was just half a step slow," Gallant said. "He probably didn't wrestle his best match."

WDC's Jacob Wegscheid ran into a buzz saw in the tough 140-pound weight class. He was pinned by state-ranked Brett Pfarr of LeSueur-Henderson at the 2:57 mark in the first round. Pfaff went on to claim second place. Wegscheid dropped into wrestlebacks where he lost to Medford's Zach Kanzenbach 20-6. Kanzenbach was the runner-up finisher at 140 in the 2009 state tournament.

"He probably had the toughest draw of any kid we had," Gallant said. "Jacob got an education."

All three of WDC's state entries are expected back to anchor the 2010-11 team.

"None of kids wrestled poorly," Gallant said. "The exciting thing now is that they are going to be back next year."

Raiders fail to place

All three Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale wrestlers were ranked in Class A going into the state tournament. BHV's Jake Braaten and Amos Schmidt advanced through first round action but Colin Turchin was defeated in his opening match.

Braaten posted a 13-6 victory over Dover-Eyota's Jake Krogstad at 152 on Wednesday but then lost to Mahnomen/Waubun's Caleb Lanoue 7-3 in Thursday's action. Lanoue went on to win the state title. Braaten was ousted from the tournament when he fell to lost to Nathan Tomala of Pierz 7-2. The BHV senior was a four-time state qualifier and placed third last year.

"He just didn't have it that day," Barthel said. "He could have won both of the matches that he lost."

Schmidt was making his state debut and he chalked up a victory right away Wednesday by edging 171-pound foe Michael Doom of Paynesville Area 6-5.

"He kind of had stars in his eyes but he settled down," Barthel said.

Schmidt got a chance to wrestle LeSueur-Henderson's Josh Willaert in the quarterfinals but lost a 16-2 decision. Willaert went on to win the 171 title. Schmidt then ran into Chad Matthees of Zumbrota-Mazeppa and lost by fall at 2:25. Matthees went on to take fifth.

Turchin, a sophomore who was making his second straight appearance at state, was pinned by Jackson County Central's Jordan Phibbs at the 3:57 mark in Round 1. He was eliminated in the heavyweight division wrestlebacks by Sibley East's Aaron Rose who scored a victory by fall at the 2:08 mark. Barthel thought Turchin's performance was related directly to his tough draws. Phibbs ended up taking third and Rose finished fourth.

Class A State Individual Tournament Results

Area Qualifiers

112 Mitch Steffens (WDC) dec. Tanner Mills (Kimball Area) 8-2; lost to Aaron Bates (Sibley East) 5-4 140 Jacob Wegscheid (WDC) lost to Zach Kanzenbach (Medford) 20-6 152 Jake Braaten (BHV) lost to Caleb Lanoue (Mahnomen/Waubun) 7-3; lost to Nathan Tomala (Pierz) 7-2 171 Amos Schmidt (BHV) lost to Josh Willaert (LeSueur-Henderson) 16-2; lost by fall to Chad Matthees (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) 2:25 HWT Colin Turchin (BHV) lost by fall to Aaron Rose (Sibley East) 2:08


103 -- Isaac Novacek, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River major dec. Gus McCarthy, Border West 16-4. 112 -- Hayden Zillmer, Crosby-Ironton major dec. Mitchel Lexvold, Kenyon-Wanamingo 14-2. 119 -- Travis Borchert, Browerville/Eagle Valley dec. Christian Skillings, Minneota 5-4. 125 -- Bronson Steuber, Jackson County Central major dec. Chad Lexvold, Kenyon-Wanamingo 18-5. 130 -- Drew Lexvold, Kenyon-Wanamingo major dec. Alex Anderson, Martin County West 9-1. 135 -- Curt Maas, Medford dec. Mariano Portillo, Crookston 4-2. 140 -- Tony Vaske, River Valley dec. Brett Pfarr, LeSueur-Henderson 11-4. 145 -- Justin Buss, Chatfield dec. Jake Long, West Central Area 5-2. 152 -- Ryan Thompson, Benson dec. Brad Keller, Medford 7-4. 160 -- Cooper Moore, Jackson County Central major dec. Stephen Erlandson, Breckenridge/Campbell-Tintah 13-2. 171 -- Josh Willaert, LeSueur-Henderson dec. Ben McPhail, Pine Island 7-6. 189 -- Joel Bauman, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg dec. Ian Pratt, Mille Lacs 9-4. 215 -- Brandon Manderschied, Minnewaska Area dec. Jon Gorter, Pipestone Area 3-1. 285 -- Dustin Caspers, BOLD dec. Alex Yeager, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River 3-2.


103 -- Kurt Timmons, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg DEC. Marcus Hamer, Kimball Area 8-4. 112 -- Zach Keller, Medford dec. Taner Trembley, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial 5-2. 119 -- Will McCarthy, Border West pinned Chase Levos, Saint Clair/Mankato Loyola 5:32. 125 -- Beau Buysse, Minneota major dec. Skylar Price, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River 13-2. 130 -- Darick Vancura, Jackson County Central dec. Jack Hawkins, Wabasha-Kellogg-Alma 6-1. 135 -- Clint Poster, Pierz major dec. Jordan Novak, New York Mills 11-2. 140 -- Cam Schafer, Minnewaska Area dec. Jessie Regalado, Jackson County Central 12-9. 145 -- Cole Kavitz, Medford dec. Anthony Caputo, Crookston 8-5. 152 -- Caleb Lanoue, Mahnomen/Waubun pinned Jake Schermerhorn, Frazee 5:38. 160 -- Sean Huls, Pierz dec. Jarid Groth, Kenyon-Wanamingo 3-2. 171 -- Brock Claeys, Canby dec. Jared Nash, Park Rapids Area 2-1. 189 -- John Gusewelle, Sauk Centre dec. Kody Lafraniere/Sorenson, Frazee 5-3. 215 -- David Lindell, New Richland-H-E-G pinned Logan Brand, Lewiston-Altura/Rushford-Peterson 2:57. 285 -- Jordan Phibbs, Jackson County Central dec. Aaron Rose, Sibley East 10-8.


103 -- Zack Kuhns, Maple River dec. Matt Hickerson, Ogilvie 6-0. 112 -- Ted Berckes, Canby dec. Aaron Bates, Sibley East 10-7. 119 -- Tanner Ellenberg, Frazee dec. Jake Wirtjes, Blue Earth Area 7-0. 125 -- Brad Hofstrand, Crosby-Ironton dec. Brad Maas, Medford 7-3. 130 -- Larry Bomstaad, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City major dec. Brett Schwartz, LeSueur-Henderson 10-2. 135 -- Ethan Hildebrandt, Saint James dec. Taylor Menke, Jackson County Central OTx4 3-2. 140 -- Sam Derynck, Minneota pinned Skyler Quamme, Kenyon-Wanamingo 1:30. 145 -- Alex Cooling, Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther dec. Grant Hegge, Southland 5-4. 152 -- Alex Steffl, BOLD dec. Sam Lindgren, LeSueur-Henderson 4-3. 160 -- Travis Winter, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa pinned Brady Wesinger, Benson 3:44. 171 -- Chad Matthees, Zumbrota-Mazeppa pinned Nich Dorschner, Martin County West 4:30. 189 -- Ben Dahl, Zumbrota-Mazeppa pinned John Drury, Park Rapids Area 1:17. 215 -- Alex Dreyer, United South Central dec. Joe Holdvogt, Eden Valley-Watkins 2-0. 285 -- Cody Torkelson, Osakis dec. Jordan Arndt, Zumbrota-Mazeppa 2-1.