Weather Forecast


Raiders thrash Breck, fall to Perham and Border West

Photo by Brian Hansel Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale's Amos Schmidt wrestles Breckenridge's Cole Praus in the 171-pound match Tuesday night during a quadrangular in Bertha. Schmidt won the match 7-0.

Mike Barthels saw his Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale Raiders post a 1-2 record in Tuesday's home quadrangular with Perham, Breckenridge and Border West.

Perham crushed the Raiders 56-10 by winning 11 of 14 matches. The Raiders countered with a 7-5 victory by Kasey Horn at 125, a 14-5 major decision by Jake Braaten at 152 and a 5-4 decision by Amos Schmidt at 171.

The Raiders roared back to trounce Breck 51-24. Six Raiders won by pins. Both clubs forfeited two matches and each forfeited at 140.

Border West claimed the first seven weights in defeating the Raiders 51-18. The Raiders won four of the last six behind Braaten, Andy Bounds, Amos Schmidt and Colin Turchin.

Perham 56, BHV 10

Hames Harlow (P) pinned Jackie Swenson (BHV) :39

Luke Sailer (P) pinned Hayden Truax (BHV) 3:38

Brandon Lueders (P) dec. Dan Houchin (BHV) 5-2

Kasey Horn (BHV) dec. Brady Sazama (P) 7-5 OT

Sam Warne (P) won by forfeit

Ty Haverland (P) won by forfeit

Payton Jordahl (P) won by forfeit

Taylor Doll (P) pinned Dillon Card (BHV) 3:15

Charlie Schitz (P) maj. dec. Dakota Aeling (BHV) 11-3

Jake Braaten (BHV) maj. dec. Cody Palubicki (P) 14-5

David Langlie (P) maj. dec. Andrew Bounds (BHV) 9-0

Amos Schmidt (BHV) dec. Chris Scheidecker (P) 5-4

Ben Brill (P) dec. Dylan Koppendrayer (BHV) 11-4

Jesse Hain (P) won by injury default over Colin Turchin (BHV)

BHV 51, Breckenridge 24

Jackie Swenson (BHV) pinned Conrad Kondos (B) 3:30

Hayden Truax (BHV) pinned Mark Erickson (B) :58

Dan Houchin (BHV) won by forfeit

Jesse Differding (B) won by forfeit

Kasey Horn (BHV) won by forfeit

Josh Stuehrengerg (B) won by forfeit

Double forfeit

Dakota Aeling (BHV) pinned Randy Hodges (B) 1:37

Jake Braaten (BHV) pinned Matt Conzemius (B) 1:52

Stephen Erlandson (B) pinned Andrew Bounds (BHV) :58

Amos Schmidt (BHV) dec. Cole Praus (B) 7-0

Greg Erlandson (B) pinned Dalton Baker (BHV) 1:15

Dylan Koppendrayer (BHV) pinned Alex Bankon (B) :46

Colin Turchin (BHV) pinned Jeff Krause (B) :49

Border West 51, BHV 18

Cameron Sykora (BW) maj. dec. Jackie Swenson (BHV) 10-2

Gus McCarthy (BW) pinned Hayden Truax (BHV) 2:31

Mitch Andrews (BW) pinned Dan Houchin (BHV) 4:53

Ryan Murphy (BW) maj. dec. Kasey Horn (BHV) 13-2

Will McCarthy (BW) won by forfeit

Zach Fridgen (BW) won by forfeit

Taylor McCali (BW) won by forfeit

Nick Stafford (BW) dec. Dillon Card (BHV) 4-2 OT

Jake Braaten (BHV) dec. Austin Rinke (BW) 12-6

Andrew Bounds (BHV) dec. Garret Behrens (BW) 12-6

Amos Schmidt (BHV) pinned Joe Stuere (BW) 1:27

Wylre Pullis (BW) pinned Dalton Baker (BHV) 3:04

Billy Connelly (BW) maj. dec. Dylan Koppendrayer (BHV) 14-6

Colin Turchin (BHV) pinned Kenny Custard (BW) 1:25

Raiders place sixth in PRC meet

Jake Braaten and Amos Schmidt claimed championships at 152 and 171 Saturday in helping the Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale Raiders to a sixth place finish at the Park Region Conference tournament in Parkers Prairie.

BHV head coach Mike Barthel made the trip with only eight of his wrestlers but still managed to rack up 109 team points. Browerville/Eagle Valley edged New York Mills 188-176.5 for top honors.

Braaten decisioned Browerville-Eagle Valley's Nate Becker 2-1 for top honors at 152.

Schmidt was a 9-4 winner over Parkers Prairie's Kevin Hahn 9-4.

Heavyweight Colin Turchin finished second losing by decision to New York Mills' Landyn Saewert at the 3:36 mark.

Placing third for the Raiders were Kasey Horn and Dylan Koppendrayer. Horn edged New York Mills' Josh Bernu 5-4. Dylan Koppendrayer pinned John Wood of Browerville/Eagle Valley at the 2:25 mark.

Park Region Conference Tournament

Team Results

Browerville/Eagle Valley 188, New York Mills 176.5, Otter Tail Central 154.5, Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 134, Parkers Prairie 125, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale 109, United North Central 100.5

Individual Results


First-Shane Novak (NYM) pinned Anthony Philipson (PLPRB) :37

Third-Sam Tellers (UNC) dec. Adam Sutlief (B/EV) 11-5


First-Randy Shamp (B/EV) dec. Tommy Seelander (NYM) 8-2

Third-Brody Benson (UNC) pinned Lance Squires (PLPRB) 4:58


First-Travis Borchert (B/EV) pinned Zach Johnson (OTC) 3:14

Third-Jake Malone (UNC) pinned Mitch Westerberg (PP) 2:08


First-Greg Blum (OTC) pinned Preston Irsfeld (B/EV) 4:17

Third-Kasey Horn (BHV) dec. Josh Bernu (NYM) 5-4


First-Jacob Meder (OTC) pinned Drey Loge (PLPRB) 1:35

Third-Michael Meyer (NYM) pinned Tylor Kent (B/EV) :55


First-Jordan Novak (NYM) maj. dec. Darian Rubner (PLBRB) 8-0

Third-Zach Mathys (OTC) dec. Mike Johnson (UNC) 8-6


First-Peter Harrison (PLBRB) dec. Max Aho (UNC) 3-1

Third-Tyler Olson (OTC) dec. Teagen Overturf (PP) 5-1


First-Ryan Silbernick (PP) dec. Levi Allen (PLBRB) 7-2

Third-Brendan Hart (OTC) dec. Seth Hofland (NYM) 4-0


First-Jake Braaten (BHV) dec. Nate Becker (B/EV) 2-1

Taylor Carlson (UNC) dec. Max Carlson (NYM) 6-4


First-Lucas Kalina (B/EV) dec. Christian Harrison (PLBRB) 6-4

Third-Patrick Nilson (OTC) dec. Noah Pesola (NYM) 1-0


First-Amos Schmidt (BHV) dec. Kevin Hahn (PP) 9-4

Third-Justin Bollin (B/EV) pinned Tyler Meech (UNC) 2:55


First-Ryan Harris (PP) pinned Christ Haugrud (OTC) 1:33

Third-Jacob Schauer (B/EV) pinned Jared Adkins (PLBRB) 4:58


First-Tyler Walsh (PP) dec. Jarrod Norton (NYM) 12-3

Third-Dylan Koppendrayer (BHV) pinned John Wood (BEV) 2:25


First-Landyn Saewert (NYM) pinned Colin Turchin (BHV) 3:36

Third-Dominic Eckel (B/EV) maj. dec. Jeremy Schwartz (PP) 10-1