Weather Forecast


Wadena boxers nearly perfect at home

At left, Sean Dunblazier for the Wadena Golden Gloves team backs off his opponent during a barrage of punches. Dunblazier won the match over James Drewelow of Fergus Falls.1 / 3
Wadena's Dakota Comeau stands his ground against Blake Freeman from the St. Cloud Work Out Gym Saturday night at the Wadena Armory. Comeau won the 78 pound match.2 / 3
Wadena boxer Taylor Geiser went after her opponent in the first round and connected with some hard shots. Gabriela Sixtoz from White Bear Lake didn't answer the bell in the second round, giving Geiser a retirement victory.3 / 3

Ten of 12 Wadena boxers scored victories Saturday before a jam-packed crowd at the Wadena Armory.

Wadena's Justin Isaacson won his super heavyweight bout by stopping St. Cloud's John LaPlant in the third round on an RSC.

Other Wadena champions included Patchrick Szathmary (180), Albert Boldt (88), Cody McManigle (147), Jeremy Umland (Super Heavyweight), Taylor Geiser (130), Jeremy Hoemberg (142), Dakota Comeau (78), Sean Dunblazier (158) and Matt Umland (62).

Fergus Falls winners included Tanner Hultin (162), Matt Umlauf (162) and Nick Soliah (178).

Ramsey Welch was a winner for St. Cloud at 145.

Wadena boxing coach Bob Tubandt will have boxers competing at the Fergus Falls Eagles Club Saturday. Fights will get underway at 7 p.m.

Wadena Boxing Card Results

62: Matt Umland (Wadena) dec. Matt Holding Eagle (FF)

158: Sean Dunblazier (Wadena) dec. James Drewelow (FF)

78: Dakota Comeau (Wadena) dec. Blake Freeman (St. Cloud)

178:Nick Soliah (FF) dec. Isaac Herzog (St. Cloud)

142: Jeremy Hoemberg (Wadena) RSC Seth Carpenter (FF)

130: Taylor Geiser (Wadena) Retirement Gabriela Sixtoz (White Bear Lake)

145: Ramsesy Welch (St. Cloud) dec. Jeremy McDonald (Wadena)

S-Hwt: Jeremy Umland (Wadena) dec. Ben Formal (FF)

147: Cody McManigle (Wadena) dec. Rondell Hubbert (FF)

180: Patchrick Szathmary (Wadena) dec. J.R. Robinson (Leech Lake)

162: Tanner Hultin (FF) dec. John Geyer (St. Cloud)

S-Hwt: Justin Isaacson (Wadena) RSC John LaPlant (St. Cloud)