Weather Forecast


Wolverines ousted at section meet

The Section 8A road came to an end for the Wadena-Deer Creek tennis team last Friday in the Section 8A tournament at the Grand Forks Tennis Center.

WDC singles player Haley Anderson lost to New York Mills' Missy Hendrickx 6-0, 6-0. WDC's Hanna Larson was unable to play because of the flu and had to withdraw.

In doubles action, WDC's Sam Holweger and Jessica Rinkel were ousted by Bailey and Lilly Mankie of East Grand Forks 6-4, 6-4. WDC's Andrea Jensen and Macy Hartman lost to East Grand Forks' McKenna Jones and Paige Jensen 6-3, 6-1.

East Grand Forks' Jessamy Jones downed Roseau's Taylor McFarlane 7-5, 6-3 on Tuesday in the true second singles match to earn a state tournament berth. Alyssa Carlson and Mary Kading of Park Rapids topped Crookston's Rachel Lariviere and Jaclyn Proulx of Crookston 7-5, 6-4 in the true second doubles match.

Also moving on to the state tournament were singles champ Abby Ness of Roseau and Crookston's winning doubles team of Hayley Myrold and Sara Derosier.

Section 8A

Tennis Tournament

Dual tournament


Roseau 4, East Grand Forks 0

Singles -- 2. Taylor McFarlane, R, over Bailey Mankie 6-2, 6-0; 3. Amanda Monkman, R, over Lilly Mankie 6-1, 6-2

Doubles -- 2. Katie Olson-Megan Foley, R, over Bethany Driscoll-Amanda Rudstrom 6-2, 6-1; 3. Jessica Acker-Tara Anderson, R, over Maria Pimentel-Carly Flaagan 6-1, 6-0.

Note: Dual was stopped when Roseau clinched the victory with its fourth win.


East Grand Forks 4, Crookston3

Singles -- 1. Jessamy Jones, EGF, over Hayley Myrold 6-7(6), 6-2, 6-1; 2. Sarah Derosier, C, over Bailey Mankie 6-0, 6-2; 3. Lilly Mankie, EGF, over Bailey Morris 6-0, 6-1; 4. Andrea Dickman, EGF, over Riley Erickson 6-3, 6-4

Doubles -- 1. Paige Jensen-McKenna Jones, EGF, over Jaclyn Proulx-Rachel Lariviere 6-2, 6-3; 2. Lauren Graham-Lilli Denison, C, over Bethany Driscoll-Amanda Rudstrom 6-2, 6-0; 3. Caitlin Crane-Kylie Simmons, C, over Maria Pimentel-Carly Flaagan 6-2, 6-1

Roseau 6, Park Rapids 1

Singles -- 1. Abby Ness, R, over Christina Smith 6-2; 2. Taylor McFarlane, R, over Bailey LaCoursiere 6-1, 6-0; 3. Amanda Monkman, R, over Julia Renner 6-3, 6-1; 4. Bethany Tangen, R, over Emily Klingenberg 7-6(2), 6-2

Doubles -- 1. Mary Kading-Alyssa Carlson, PR, over Amy Olson-Ingrid Mlodzik 6-2; 2. Katie Olson-Megan Foley, R, over Karly Dickinson-Allison Gatz 6-0, 6-4; 3. Jessica Acker-Tara Anderson, R, over Katie Walsh-Alexis Burlingame 6-4, 6-0

Doubles tournament

First round

Alyssa Carlson-Mary Kading, Park Rapids, def. Suzanne Coleman-Hannah Brenk, Perham, 6-2, 6-1; Bailey Mankie-Lilly Mankie, EGF, def. Samantha Holweger-Jessica Rinkel, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-4, 6-4; Zoe Pietras-Swanton-Katie Rook, Thief River Falls, def. Savannah Thompson-Lauren Bach, New York Mills, 6-3, 6-0; Amanda Monkman-Amy Olson, Roseau, def. Karly Dickinson-Allie Girtz, Park Rapids, 6-4, 6-4; McKenna Jones-Paige Jensen, EGF, def Andrea Jenson-Macy Hartman, Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-3, 6-1; Rachel Lariviere-Jaclyn Proux, Crookston, def. Lindsey Genereux-Sarah Matter, Thief River Falls, 7-5, 6-4; Whitney Delaney-Emilly Wurgler, Perham, Def. Katie Olson-Megan Foley, Roseau, 6-3, 6-1; Sarah Derosier-Hayley Myrold, Crookston, def. Kaitlyn Hintsala-Jen Maki, New York Mills, 6-2, 6-0

Singles tournament

First round

Abby Ness, Roseau, def. Brita Sundberg, Perham, 6-0, 6-0; Missy Hendrickx, New York Mills, def. Hayley Anderson Wadena-Deer Creek, 6-0, 6-0; Kaylee Norlin, Thief River Falls, def. Riley Erickson, Crookston, 6-1, 5-7, 6-4; Taylor MacFarlane, Roseau, def. Bailey LaCoursiere, Park Rapids, 6-0, 6-0; Isabelle Resch, New York Mills, 6-1, 6-0; Christina Smith, Park Rapids, def. Andrea Dickman, EGF Senior High, 6-2, 6-3; Jamie LaCoursiere, Thief River Falls, def. Becca Huebsch, Perham, 6-2, 6-1; Jessamy Jones, EGF, def. Hanna Larson, Wadena-Deer Creek, withdrawal