Weather Forecast


Doubles tennis team advances in Section 8A

The Wadena-Deer Creek doubles team of Taylor Garcia and Mike Paavola avenged a regular season defeat to Park Rapids' Ted Tiffany and Kirt Leadbetter in the opening round of the Section 8A individual tournament at Perham.

Garcia and Paavola won 6-2, 6-4 to advance against Crookston's Carter Denison and Nic Biermaier, who ousted the WDC duo 6-4, 6-1 and went on to place second in doubles play.

WDC's Cody Bain and Justin Tucker each fell in the first round of Section 8A singles play. Bain lost a 6-2, 6-0 set to Park Rapids' Scott Smith while Tucker fell to Crookston's Wade Johnston 6-0, 6-0.

The WDC doubles team of Drew Larson and Austin Korkowski ran into Park Rapids' Ryan Kent and Alex Renner in the first round and suffered losses of 6-1 and 6-0.

Bain, Tucker, Garcia and Paavola earned Mid-State Conference Honorable Mention.