Weather Forecast


WDC girls bow out early against Section 8A competition

Wadena-Deer Creek’s singles and doubles entries in the Section 8A Individual Tournament were ousted in first round play at Grand Forks, N.D.

WDC singles players Paige Hartman and Maddie Hinojos lost to Pequot Lakes’ Lauren Bengston and Staples-Motley’s Mikayla Wing. Hartman fell 6-3, 6-3 while Hinojos bowed 6-1, 6-0. The state-ranked Wing was the eventual Section 8A individual singles champ.

In doubles action, WDC’s Erin Johnson and Whitney Eickhoff lost 6-1, 6-4 to Kaity Randal and Ashley Normandin of East Grand Forks. Elsie Kallevig and Abby Wegscheid were defeated 6-0, 6-0 by Crookston’s Amber Trostad and Ally Tiedeman.

Staples-Motley edged Park Rapids Area 4-3 to claim team honors on Friday.

Class A state tournament play will be held Oct. 22-25 at the Reed-Sweatt Tennis Center in Minneapolis.

Section 8A Individual Tournament



Mikayla Wing, Staples-Motley, def. Julia Smith, Park Rapids 6-3, 6-2

True Second

Smith, Park Rapids, def. Chessa Jones, East Grand Forks 6-3, 6-1

Third Place

Jones, East Grand Forks, def. Bethany Tangen, Roseau 6-1, 6-3


Wing, Staples-Motley, def. Jones, East Grand Forks 6-3, 6-1

Smith, Park Rapids, def. Tangen, Roseau 6-0, 6-3


Wing, Staples-Motley, def. Lindsey Girtz, Park Rapids 6-0, 6-2

Jones, East Grand Forks, def. Sarah Koopman, Staples-Motley 6-1, 6-3

Tangen, Roseau, def. Sydney Holt, Pequot Lakes 6-1, 6-3

Smith, Park Rapids, def. Lauren Bengston, Pequot Lakes 6-0, 6-0

First round

Wing, Staples-Motley, def. Maddy Hinojos, Wadena-Deer Creek 6-1, 6-0

Girtz, Park Rapids, def. Kennedy Resendez, Crookston 6-4, 6-4

Koopman, Staples-Motley, def. Juli Miller, Roseau, 6-0, 6-3

Tangen, Roseau, def. Victoria Selander, New York Mills, 6-0, 6-1

Holt, Pequot Lakes, def. Emily Strezishar 6-0, 6-0

Bengston, Pequot Lakes, def. Paige Hartman, Wadena-Deer Creek 6-3, 6-3

Smith, Park Rapids, def. Lydia Shafer 6-0, 6-1



Christina Smith/Julia Renner, Park Rapids, def. Kelsey Zetah/Nikki Edin, Staples-Motley 6-3, 6-3

Third Place

Bailey Janzen/Marrisa Jevne, Roseau, def. Jaden Linder/Haley Wiebolt 6-4, 6-3


Smith/Renner, Park Rapids, def. Linder/Wiebolt, Pequot Lakes 6-2, 6-1

Zetah/Edin, Staples-Motely, def. Janze/Jevne, Roseau 6-2, 6-3


Smith/Renner, Park Rapids, def. Kaity Randall/Ashley Normandin, East Grand Forks, 6-1, 6-0

Linder/Wiebolt, Pequot Lakes, def. Emily Israelson/Grace Wolhowe, Staples-Motley 6-4, 6-3

Janzen/Jevne, Roseau, def. Amber Trostad/Ally Tiedeman, Crookston 6-3, 2-6, 6-3

Zetah/Edin, Staples-Motley, def. Leah Trostad/Liz Awender, Crookston 6-3, 6-4

First round

Smith/Renner, Park Rapids, def. Alyssa Moris/Julia Pearson, Perham, 6-0, 6-0

Kaity Randall/Ashley Normandin, East Grand Forks, def. Erin Johnson/Whitney Eickhoff, Wadena-Deer Creek 6-1, 6-4

Emily Israelson/Grace Wolhowe, Staples-Motley, def. Sarina Goos/Morgan Bicker, Roseau 6-0, 6-0

Linder/Wiebolt, Pequot Lakes, def. Emma Dietrich/Cynthia Loven, East Grand Forks, 6-1, 6-2

Amber Trostad/Ally Tiedeman, Crookston, def. Elsie Kallevig/Abby Wegscheid, Wadena-Deer Creek 6-0, 6-0

Janzen/Jevne, Roseau, def. Hope Johnson/Charity Ridlon, Park Rapids Area, 6-2, 6-3

Leah Trostad/Liz Awender, Crookston, def. Eleanor Erholtz/Carley Fyle 6-1, 6-4

Zetah/Edin, Staples-Motley, def. Katie Howie/Betsy Pearson, Perham 6-0, 6-0

Park Rapids 7, WDC 0

The Panthers advanced in Section 8A team tournament competition by blanking the Wolverines last Tuesday on their home court.

Section 8A Team

Park Rapids 7, WDC 0


1 Christina Smith (PR) over Paige Hartman (WDC) 6-1, 6-0

2 Julia Smith (PR) over Maddy Hinojos (WDC) 6-0, 6-2

3 Hope Johnson (PR) over Whitney Eickhoff (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

4 Mariena Dearstyne (PR) over Abby Westrum (WDC) 6-3, 6-1


1 Julia Renner-Charity Ridlon (PR) over Erin Johnson-Elise Kallevig (WDC) 6-0, 6-1

2 Sarena Kinkel-Lindsey Girtz (PR) over Abby Wegscheid-Sarah Moen (WDC) 6-2, 6-2

3 Ali Walsh-Morgan Knott (PR) over Anna Kraemer-Gabby Weiher (WDC) 6-2, 6-2