Weather Forecast


Schmitz earns third all-conference award

Emma Schmitz captured all-conference honors in the Mid-State Conference cross country meet for the third time last Thursday in Emily.

Schmitz, a two-time Class A state qualifier, geared up for the Section 8A meet at Bagley Oct. 25 by running a time of 16:50.

Joining Schmitz in achieving a 166 score in team competition were Abi Motschenbacher, Tiffany Meeks, Briana Malone and Gabi Ross who placed 39th, 47th, 53rd and 67th respectively with times of 18:59, 19:31, 19:53 and 20:50.

Margaret Stokman of Crosby-Ironton set the pace for all runners with a time of 15:47.

Four Park Rapids runners finished in the Top 10 as the Panthers claimed team honors in the girls meet with a 35.

Jimmy Kim’s 31st place time of 20:11 paced the WDC boys. Konnor Stueve posted a 37th place finish with a time of 20:26, Isaac Hale ran a 23:51 for 92nd place and Alex Lorentz was 96th with a 25:41.

Park Rapids’ Isaac Overmyer was the meet champion with a 16:58. Four Crosby-Ironton runners placed in the Top 10 in leading the Rangers to a winning 44 in team competition.

Mid-State Conference


Crosby-Ironton 44, 2 Detroit Lakes 57, 3 Long Prairie-Grey Eagle, 4 Pequot Lakes 112, Park Rapids Area 113, Staples-Motley 125

Top 10 Finishers

Isaac Overmyer (Park Rapids Area) 16:58

Matthew Lundstrom (Detroit Lakes) 17:13

Derek Warner (LPGE) 17:29

Will Goodwin (C-I) 17:36

Jude Severson (C-I) 17:55

David Bachmeier (LPGE) 18:01

Isaac Carlton (C-I) 18:16

Zachary Foltz (DL) 18:21

John Stokman (C-I) 18:40

Stephen Plopper (S-M) 18:54


Jimmy Kim, 31st, 20:11,

Konnor Stueve, 37th, 20:26

Isaac Hale, 92nd, 23:51

Alex Lorentz, 96th 25:41


Park Rapids Area 35, Detroit Lakes 54, Crosby-Ironton 78, Pequot Lakes 97, Staples-Motley 129, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 157, Wadena-Deer Creek 166

Top 10 Finishers

Margaret Stokman (Crosby-Ironton) 15:47

Lydia Kantonen (PR) 15:51

Mackenzie Ostlie (DL) 16:08

Megan Olson (PR) 16:17

Ellery Overmyer (PR) 16:23

Molly McCusker (C-I) 16:27

Kendra Coborn (PR) 16:39

Emma Schmitz (WDC) 16:50

Sarah Schumacher (DL) 17:06

Caitie Ryan (PL) 17:08


Emma Schmitz, 8th, 16:50

Abi Motschenbacher, 39th, 18:59

Tiffany Meeks, 47th, 19:31

Briana Malone, 53rd, 19:53

Gabi Ross, 67th, 20:50