Weather Forecast


Dahlstrom named Administrator of Excellence

Virginia Dahlstrom

The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) has named Dr. Virginia Dahlstrom, superintendent for Wadena-Deer Creek Public Schools, an Administrator of Excellence.

Dahlstrom was honored for her leadership, concern for students, and active involvement in professional and community affairs at a statewide recognition ceremony to be held at the MASA Spring Conference, March 15-16 in Bloomington.

Dahlstrom's achievements reflect her ability to lead important changes in the educational system. She has served as the superintendent for the Wadena-Deer Creek School District since 2008, working to provide the best possible educational programs for students.

An active MASA member for over four years, Dahlstrom has served as a member of the MASA legislative committee as well as participated in numerous lobbying efforts at the state legislature. In 2011, Dahlstrom received the MASA Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award for excellence in educational leadership.

Along with her successful career in education, Dahlstrom stays active in her community as a member of several education associations including; the American Association of School Administration, the Association for Advancement of International Education, the East Asia Regional Council for Overseas Schools, the Korea Council for Overseas Schools and the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development and the Association for Middle Level Educators.

Dahlstrom holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Wisconsin, a master's degree from Minnesota State University, Mankato and a doctorate from the University of Minnesota.

Each year, MASA recognizes members for their contribution to public education. MASA is a professional organization of Minnesota's school leaders, including superintendents, assistant superintendents, directors of special education and other central office administrators, as well as state department administrators, college and university professors and other educators throughout Minnesota dedicated to educational leadership for students.