Weather Forecast


WDC School Board elects officers, freezes stipend for third year

Photo by Dana Pavek/WDC Schools The Wadena-Deer Creek School Board held its reorganization meeting on Jan. 10 at WDC Elementary. The new officers include, sitting, from left: Wayne Perkins, treasurer; Ann Pate, chair; John Moenkedick, vice chair; and Dan Toedter, clerk; back row, standing: Steve Techam and Pete Hayes, directors.

Wadena-Deer Creek School Board held its reorganization meeting on Monday, Jan. 10 at WDC Elementary School.

Three school board members were officially inducted on the board. John Moenkedick, Ann Pate and Wayne Perkins were re-elected in November 2010 during the general election. Pate has been on the board since 2002, and Moenkedick and Perkins have served on the board since 2006.

The board re-elected Pate as chair and Moenkedick as vice chair. Dan Toedter will serve as clerk and Wayne Perkins as treasurer. All were elected unanimously.

The board also voted to change the meeting time for school board meetings from 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., starting July 2011. The board will continue to meet the third Monday of the month, except for the months of January and February, when the board meets on the third Tuesday of the month due to holidays.

Starting with the Jan. 18 school board meeting, the meetings will be held in the WDC Elementary media center.

In addition, the board voted unanimously to not increase their stipend for the third year in a row.

To view the school board's meeting agendas and minutes, go to