Weather Forecast


Tri-County Health Care Foundation awards $6,500 in scholarships

Melissa Perius, recipient of the Bernadine Marquardt And Margaret Prindle Scholarship.1 / 3
Torrey Byman, Menahga, recipient of the Larry Mayer Memorial Scholarship and the Jim Lawson Memorial Scholarship2 / 3
Eileen Martin, Ottertail, recipient of the 2010 Frances E. Raatikka nursing scholarship.3 / 3

Tri-County Health Care Foundation has awarded $6,500 of scholarships to local students.

Bernadine Marquardt and Margaret Prindle Scholarship

The Tri-County Health Care Foundation awarded a $2,000 scholarship to Melissa Perius. The Bernadine Marquardt and Margaret Prindle Scholarship is awarded annually to one TCHC employee. The scholarship was established to encourage Tri-County Health Care employees to fulfill their educational goals. This scholarship is not limited to clinical studies; all programs and degree levels are applicable.

The Bernadine Marquardt and Margaret Prindle Scholarship was established in 2010 as an endowment memorial from long-time Tri-County Hospital employees and sisters, Bernadine Marquardt and Margaret Prindle. Marquardt worked as a Licensed Practical Nurse at Tri-County Hospital for 46 years; she retired in 1986. Prindle retired from Tri-County Hospital in 1991 after 48 years of service to the Dietary Department.

Larry Mayer Scholarship

The Tri-County Foundation awarded a $500 Larry Mayer Memorial Scholarship to both Abigail Malone, Wadena, and Torrey Byman, Menahga. Malone is attending St. Cloud Hospital of Diagnostic Imaging. Byman is attending M State - Detroit Lakes.

Larry Mayer served as Diagnostic Imaging Department manager at Tri-County Hospital from 1973 until 2000, when he passed away suddenly. The family of Larry Mayer and the Tri-County Hospital Governing Board established the Larry Mayer Memorial Scholarship in 2001 to encourage qualified individuals to pursue a health care career in radiology.

Francis E. Raatikka Nursing Scholarship

Eileen Martin, Ottertail, is the recipient of the 2010 Frances E. Raatikka nursing scholarship for $2,500. Martin is a student at Minnesota State University, Moorhead - in the bachelor of science nursing program.

The Frances E. Raatikka nursing scholarship was established by her family to assist a student who has been accepted into his/her junior or senior year at an accredited Bachelor of Science nursing program. Raatikka was a registered nurse at Tri-County Hospital from 1965-1995.

Jim Lawson Scholarship

Torrey Byman, Menahga, is the recipient of a $1,000 Jim Lawson Memorial Scholarship. Byman is a student at M State - Detroit Lakes, pursuing a degree in radiology technology.

The Jim Lawson Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Jim Lawson, administrator of Tri-County Hospital from 1980 to 1995, by the hospital governing board in 1997 to encourage and promote qualified individuals from the hospital's service area to pursue an advanced or graduate level health care career. The scholarship will aid in funding education at any accredited medical training program at any college or university.

In addition to the four scholarships listed above, Tri-County Health Care Foundation awards six scholarships to local high school graduates. The $1,000 scholarships are given to students in our service area pursuing health care careers.

The Tri-County Hospital Foundation is a private charity established in 1994 by the hospital to attract and administer charitable funds for the benefit of the communities and surrounding areas served by Tri-County Hospital in Wadena.

For more information about any of the Foundation scholarships, contact Foundation Office at (218) 631-7472 or visit and click on "TCH Foundation."