Weather Forecast


Friendly Rider drivers honored

Photo provided David Zeise, Donavon Payne, Linda Ness, Ricky Pederson and Robin Grotberg received Safe Driver awards for their 2011 work at Friendly Rider Transit.

The Northern Tier Transit Partnership announces that their Safe Driver Awards for 2011 have been awarded to Linda Ness, Robin Grotberg, Donavon Payne, David Zeise and Rick Pederson by the Northern Tier Transit Partnship. They are all professional drivers for Friendly Rider Transit. George Behl recommended them for the award based on the criteria established by the NTT Partnership. This is Linda's fourth, Rick's second and Robin, David, Donavon's first year awards with Friendly Rider.

The Northern Tier Transit Partnership is made up of public transit providers in Northern Minnesota. The Partnership meets quarterly to discuss issues and problems relating to public transit in greater Minnesota.

Bev Herfindhal of MNDOT states that drivers from Friendly Rider Transit are among more than 20 public transit drivers to be awarded a safe driver award in Northern Minnesota for 2011.

Public Transit Drivers in greater Minnesota are faced with a variety of road conditions and any driver earning this award has set an example of professionalism that reflects great credit on their driving skills and professional competence.

Drivers from Friendly Rider and Rainbow Rider Public Transits were also recipients of this award for 2011.