Weather Forecast


Attendance tops 500 at Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative annual meeting

About 500 members and guests attended Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative's annual membership meeting on April 15, at Memorial Auditorium in Wadena.

Members re-elected Marie Katterhagen, Browerville, Jerry Mevissen, Nimrod, and Mike Thorson, Browerville, to three-year terms on the board of directors. A proposed bylaw amendment allowing the option for online voting for future director elections was passed.

Board President Bruce Berg explained the board's process for selecting a new manager before introducing Robin Doege, who assumed the cooperative's general manager position last January. Doege said he feels fortunate to be joining a cooperative that is financially and operationally strong and is also blessed with excellent employees. He stressed that his primary goal at Todd-Wadena is to continue to provide members with reliable, safe and affordable electricity. He noted, however, that climate change legislation threatens to significantly increase consumers' energy costs and he encouraged members to get involved by contacting their local legislators.

Following the meeting, the Todd-Wadena directors held a reorganization meeting and re-elected Bruce Berg, president, Norm Krause, secretary, and Gene Kern, treasurer.