Weather Forecast


WDC School Board re-elects officers, votes to freeze stipend

The Wadena-Deer Creek School Board held its reorganization meeting, Monday. The board re-elected the same officers for 2013. Sitting, from left: Steve Techam, chair; John Moenkedick, clerk; Ann Pate, vice chair; back, from left: Kent Schmidt, new director; Wayne Perkins, director; and Peter Hayes, treasurer. Photo by Dana Pavek, Wadena-Deer Creek Schools

Three school board members were officially inducted on the Wadena-Deer Creek School Board, during a Monday meeting at WDC Middle/High School.

The inductees were Peter Hayes, Steve Techam and Kent Schmidt. Hayes and Techam were re-elected during the November 2012 general election. The board welcomed new director Kent Schmidt, who was also elected to the board in November. Schmidt replaces Dan Toedter, who decided not to run.

Toedter was appointed to the board in 2008. Hayes and Techam have served on the board since 2008 as well.

For 2013, the slate of officers will remain the same. The board re-elected Techam as chair, Pate as vice chair, Moenkedick as clerk and Hayes as treasurer.

In addition, the board voted unanimously to not increase their stipend for the fifth year in a row.

The school board will continue to convene at 6 p.m. for their regular monthly meetings, as well as meet the third Monday of the month, except for the months of January and February, when the board meets on the third Tuesday of the month due to holidays. The meetings will be held in the Robertson Theatre at WDC Middle/High School.

To view the school board's current agenda and minutes, go to and click on "School Board."