Weather Forecast


State and federal office candidates to square off

Candidates for state and federal office will square off Aug. 14 during the primary to secure a spot in the general election.

Redistricting based on the 2010 Census has created some open seats and changed election boundaries.

Most of Wadena County and most of Todd County are included in State Legislative District 9.

Most of Otter Tail County, including Precinct 4 of the city of Wadena, is included in State Legislative District 8.

The city of Menahga and the three northernmost townships of Wadena County are included in State Legislative District 2.

For State Representative District 2B, GOP candidates David Collins of Park Rapids and Steve Green of Fosston will compete to face DFL candidate Brita Sailer of Park Rapids.

For State Representative District 8B, DFL candidates Bruce Campbell and Bob Cuniff, both of Alexandria, will compete to face Rep. Mary Franson (R-Alexandria).

For the open seat of State Representative District 9A, GOP candidate Mark Anderson of Lake Shore and DFL candidate Don Niles of Wadena filed unopposed within their respective political parties.

State Senate candidates in Districts 2, 8 and 9 all filed unopposed, according to the Secretary of State website.

Senator Rod Skoe (DFL-Clearbrook) is to face GOP challenger Dennis Moser, also of Clearbrook, for District 2.

Senator Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-Alexandria) and challenger Dan Skogen of Hewitt filed for State Senate District 8.

Senator Paul Gazelka (R-Nisswa) and challenger Al Doty of Royalton filed for State Senate District 9.

Area residents will also vote on national offices.

Three DFL candidates are vying for the general election for U.S. Representative District 8, which includes Wadena County. Jeff Anderson of Duluth, Tarryl Clark of Duluth and DFL-endorsed Richard Nolan of Cross Lake are in the running to challenge incumbent Chip Cravaack, who is unopposed within the Republican Party.

Candidates for U.S. Representative District 7, which includes Otter Tail County, filed unopposed within their political parties. Adam Steele of Bemidji is the Independence candidate, Lee Byberg of Willmar is the GOP candidate and incumbent Collin Peterson of Detroit Lakes is the DFL candidate.

Eleven candidates filed for a U.S. Senate seat, including endorsed incumbent U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (DFL-MN). Klobuchar has three challengers within the Democratic Party for the primary election: "Dick" Franson, Jack Edward Shepard and Darryl Stanton.

Three Republicans are also competing with each other to challenge Klobuchar in the general election: Kurt Bills, David Carlson and Bob Carney Jr.

Two Independence candidates will compete for their party's nomination: Glen R. Anderson Menze and Stephen Williams. Menze is formerly of New York Mills.

Michael Cavlan of the Minnesota Open Progressives Party and Tim Davis of the Grassroots Party filed unopposed within their respective political parties.

In addition, the Wadena area is affected by nonpartisan judicial elections.

Three candidates are running for the office of Chief Justice of the State Supreme Court: Jill Clark, incumbent Lorie Skjerven Gildea and Dan Griffith. The top two will go on to the general election.

Three candidates are also running for Associate Justice, Supreme Court 4: Alan Nelson, incumbent David Stras and Tim Tingelstad.