Weather Forecast


Contestants named for Miss Wadena 2012

Photos by Rachelle Klemme Miss Wadena contestants for 2012 gathered Wednesday evening at Immanuel Lutheran Church to plan for the June 23 pageant. From left, Halley Maas, Amy Fillhouer, current Miss Wadena Haley Anderson, Avery Jackson, Lacena Brown and Macy Hartman.1 / 2
Photo by Rachelle Klemme Little Attendants gathered at Immanuel Lutheran Church Wednesday night to get ready for the June 23 Miss Wadena Pageant. From left, Caylee Lysdahl, Brenna Leeseberg, Maggie Hegarty, Macie Denny, Libby Hartman and Avery Allrud.2 / 2

Five contestants are set for the June 23 Miss Wadena Scholarship Pageant.

Miss Wadena 2011 Haley Anderson will crown the new winner, who could be Lacena Brown, Amy Fillhouer, Macy Hartman, Avery Jackson or Halley Maas.

Miss Wadena 2012 will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Additionally, the First Princess will receive $500 and the Second Princess will receive $250.

The pageant is unique to Wadena, and not affiliated with Miss Minnesota. The winner will have various duties at community events in the upcoming year.

Contestants will be selling pop, water and tickets at the "June Jubilee" parade June 14.

Tickets for the Miss Wadena Scholarship pageant, which starts 7 p.m. at the Wadena Memorial Auditorium, are $5 in advance or $6 at the door. They can be purchased in advance from contestants or at Thrifty White Drug.

The 2012 theme is "Forever Enchanting," a tribute to Disney fairy tales.

Little Attendants this year are Avery Allrud, Macie Denny, Libby Hartman, Maggie Hegarty and Caylee Lysdahl.