Weather Forecast


WDC FCCLA chapter attends Region 6 Conference

Photo by Cindi Koll/WDC High School Open to grades 7-12, Wadena-Deer Creek has 43 members in their FCCLA chapter. This is an excellent showing of membership for this club.

Forty-three delegates from Wadena-Deer Creek's Family, Career & Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) chapter attended the region conference held recently at the Historic Holmes Center in Detroit Lakes.

At the conference, new members experienced what FCCLA is about at the regional level. The opening ceremony was presided over by the Region 6 FCCLA Officer team of: President Lydia Danielson from Lake Park-Audubon; Vice President Emily Sunram, Lake Park Audubon; Secretary Kristi Engquist, Herman-Norcross; Treasurer Desiree Isola, Wadena-Deer Creek; and officer helper Hope Norenberg, Wadena-Deer Creek. State officers attending were President Skylar Borchardt and Vice President of Community Service Chloe Hanson.

The keynote speaker was Patrick Kasper, whose theme was "Positive Motion." His enthusiastic presentation "kept the whole crowd moving and excited," said Hope Norenberg, WDC FCCLA member. The roundtable sessions featured state and region officers teaching about a variety of state and national projects. WDC FCCLAers who presented roundtable workshops were Desiree Isola, Rylie Langer and Hope Norenberg.

"The day proved to be informative and fun," said Cindi Koll, adviser of the WDC FCCLA chapter. Koll said the conference also instilled the FCCLA mission: To promote personal growth and leadership development through Family and Consumer Sciences education

An excellent showing of WDC students attended the conference: Addison Crocker, Melody Goeden, Shania lannes, Hye Yeon Lee, Paige Schiller, Morgan Schiller, Anissa Mench, Talia Cotton, Hailey Formo, Daryl Ann Webb, Anna Kraemer, Kayla Hanson, Katelynn Hanson, Desiree Isola, Edwin Kim, Lydia Burns, Brandon Monson, Mikaela Nordlund, Hope Norenberg, Rylie Langer, Jessica Langer, Beth Schmitz, Olivia Schwartz, Lauren Soroko, Angela, Torkkola, Hannah Vorderbruggen, Bailey Blessing, Emma Bruce, Rachel Schwartz, Michael Cantrell, Grace Mertens, Shereen Senn, Morgan Sibert, Maggie Schmitz, Arianna Cotton, Kelsie Pierce, Veronica Triebenbach, Maddie Barthel, Taylor Swaisgood, Mikena Formanek, FACS student teacher Amanda Kneisl; chapter parent LaDonna Norenberg; and adviser, Cindi Koll.