Weather Forecast


BHV edges WDC in Sub-District 6

Jared Hoemberg doubled twice and drove in all four runs Monday evening as Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale trimmed Wadena-Deer Creek 4-2 in a game to decide the Sub-District 6 championship.

Dakota Aeling and Patrick Riewer each scored twice for BHV.

David Najjar and Ryan Redfield were 2-for-4 at the plate for Post 171.

The WDC crew was 1-for-8 with runners in scoring position.

Steve Riewer's BHV crew jumped out to a quick 2-0 lead but solo runs in the second and fifth frames helped WDC tie the game. A two-run sixth gave BHV the victory.

Ethan Bakken was the winner in relief of Dustin Motschenbacher and Jared Hoemberg. The three BHV hurlers combined for 10 strikeouts. Colter Pettit went all the way in taking the mound loss. Pettit fanned six.

Both clubs advanced to the District 6, Division II Legion Tournament July 21-24 in Menahga. The eight-team tournament winner advances to the state tournament July 28-31 in Ely.

WDC 010 010 0 - 2 8 0

BHV 200 002 x - 4 5 0

WP-Bakken; LP- Pettit