Weather Forecast


Three vie for two Wadena City Council seats

Three people are running for two spots on the Wadena City Council, and a few Wadena County posts will see an election challenge Nov. 2.

An Open Book owner Gillette Kempf will challenge incumbents Toby Pierce and Jeanette Baymler for two Wadena City Council positions. Mayor Wayne Wolden filed and will run unopposed in this fall's election.

Lane Waldahl will likely retain his Wadena County Commissioner District 1 seat, as he is unopposed. In District 3, Danny Goeden is challenging incumbent Bill Stearns, and in District 5, David Hillukka will challenge incumbent Dave Schermerhorn.

Wadena County Auditor-Treasurer Char West faces a challenge from Brian James Hagen.

Other county office holders will be unopposed: Recorder Soledad Henriksen, Sheriff Mike Carr and Attorney Kyra Ladd. There was only one filing in each of the Soil and Water Supervisor Districts: Kenneth Berg (District 1), Marvin Runyan (2), Nancy Benson (3).

In Aldrich, Jennifer Reiman was the only person to file for mayor, and Bridget King the only to file for treasurer. Two people filed for two posts on the Aldrich City Council: Daniel Gesino Jr. and Allan Johnston.

In Menahga, three candidates will seek the mayor's office: Jody Bjornson, Patrick Foss and Tom Larson. Three people seek two seats on the Menahga City Council: Roger Henstorf, Pat Slifer and Alden Ylineimi.

In Nimrod, no one filed to run for city clerk, and only Jeff Pederson filed for the mayor's seat. Two city council positions are up for election in Nimrod, but only one person filed: Jeanne Tellock.

Sebeka's mayoral race will see David Anderson and James Murphy run against each other, while Norbert Ament, Quentin Ness and Jarrett Sanderson will vie for two seats on the city council.

Verndale Mayor Ardith Carr will run unopposed for re-election. Three people filed for two open city council seats: Raye Ludovissie, Jim Runyan and Doug Wallace.

The three incumbents in Wadena-Deer Creek School District filed to run again: John Moenkedick, Ann Pate and Wayne Perkins. The three are unopposed at the polls.

Menahga School Board, fresh off another close referendum fight, had plenty of interest. Eight people are running for three open seats: Ernest Huhta, Jon Kangas, Julia Kicker, Mel Lockhart, Amy Massie, Al Peterson, Joyce Skoog and Tadd Usher.

Only one person who filed won't find a seat when the music stops for the Sebeka School Board. Patricia Anderson, Nate Hendrickson, Russell Johnson, Jeffrey Sams and Mary Schmitt all filed, and all but one will be elected.

Verndale School Board runs an odd-year election, so no one is up for a vote this fall.