Weather Forecast


Stearns, Schermerhorn face challengers

Wadena County incumbent commissioners Bill Stearns and Dave Schermerhorn will each face challengers in the 2010 election while Commissioner Lane Waldahl will run unopposed.

Danny Goeden filed to run for the district 1 seat against Stearns who is running again for the office. Dave Whitacker and David Hillukka will both challenge Schermerhorn for the district 5 seat. Whitacker, Hillukka and Schermerhorn all filed on the June 1 deadline.

Waldahl was the only person to file for the district 1 seat.

Running for county auditor-treasurer are incumbent Char West, Brian James Hagen and Betty A. White.

County Attorney Kyra Ladd, Sheriff Mike Carr and Recorder Soledad Henriksen will run unopposed for their positions.

Filing in Otter Tail County were Everett P. Erickson and Wayne D. Johnson for commissioner district 2; Roger Froemming for commissioner district 4; Brian Schlueter for sheriff; Wayne Stein for county auditor; David J. Hauser for county attorney; and Wendy L. Metcalf for recorder.

The general election is Nov. 2, 2010.