Weather Forecast


Public Notice Independent School District #2155, Board Minutes, April 19, 2010

Public Notice

Independent School District #2155, Board

Minutes, April 19, 2010

The regular meeting of the Board of Inde-

pendent School District No. 2155 was called

to order by Chairperson Ann Pate at 5:07

p.m. Other board members present: Dan

Toedter, Wayne Perkins, John Moenkedick,

Steve Techam and Peter Hayes. Also

present: Superintendent Virginia Dahlstrom;

High School Principal Tyler Church, Elemen-

tary Principal Louis Rutten; Business Manag-

er Jerry Anderson; and Communications Co-

ordinator Dana Pavek.

The school board recognized the Paper

family for their donation of tennis muscle

memory equipment for the WDC tennis

team, as well as recognized the high school

band and choir for their superior and excel-

lent ratings at the recent music contests.

The regular board minutes from the March

15, 2010 meeting were approved.

Retirements of Sandy Bain, high school

business teacher; Sharon Brincefield, Adult

Basic Education program director; Rita Price,

food service worker; Bob Wierima, bus driv-

er; and Jerry Fellman, bus driver/utility per-

son were all accepted. The Change in con-

tract for Jim Formanek, high school art

teacher, from 50 percent to 33 percent effec-

tive for 2010-11 school year was approved.

The following change in assignments: Nor-

man Gallant, junior high school math teacher

and athletic director; and Gerard Lehmkuhl,

Deer Creek custodian, were approved. New

contracts for Jerry Anderson, business man-

ager; Luke Sturm, recreation coordinator;

June Landgren, speech/language instructor;

Peter Tranvik, tennis coach; and John Cran-

dall, assistant track coach were approved.

The resolution to discontinue and/or re-

duce the following educational programs and

positions: Eliminate .5 Custodial Position,

Eliminate 3.88 FTE Teaching Positions,

Eliminate 2.0 FTE Elementary Teaching Po-

sitions, Eliminate .5 FTE AD as an Adminis-

tration Position passed.

Board Members introduced and moved the

adoptions of the resolutions relating to the

termination and non-renewal of the proba-

tionary teaching contracts of Scott Endres,

Sheila Winkels, Dustin Gramstad, and Kristi-

na Witthuhn. All motions passed. Board

Members introduced the resolutions and

moved the adoptions proposing to place

Laurie Kopischke-Puliju and Lisa Winters on

unrequested leave of absence. Motions


Capital requests for a boiler and roof edg-

ing, both in the high school, the tennis court

repair bid, and the bills were approved and


Board members reported on the meetings

they attended over the last month. Superin-

tendent Dahlstrom reported on the following:

legislative update, PTA/PTO/PTP organiza-

tional meeting, May 5, 6:30 p.m. at Cyber

Cafe; community technology demonstration,

March 24, and future dates; Deer Creek

baseball field update; and Adult Basic Edu-

cation program director position description

and hiring process; and FCCLA convention.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:09 p.m.

122985-1076695 5/8